RSS Feed

Spiced Sweet Potato Muffins (GF)

Posted on

There muffins are good AND they are healthy!

No refined sugar.

No oil.

Grain free.

It sounds like these would also be taste – free, but they are not! The sweet potato + the spice combination is surprisingly delicious. Case in point: My husband, who usually dislikes the taste of healthy baking, actually asked if he could eat another one! He said “I can tell it has healthy stuff in it, but it tastes good!” I actually had to cut us both off from eating any more until I snapped a few photos.

Three notes about the recipe: First, this calls for mashed sweet potato. The easiest way I’ve found to prepare that is to boil the sweet potato in chunks. First, peel a sweet potato, then cut into one or two inch chunks. Boil until you can feel they are soft when poked with a fork. Drain and mash, using a blender, food processor, or immersion blender. I’ve found that one medium sized sweet potato usually gives me about a cup, mashed.

Second note: These muffins bake up to be very moist and soft, as written. If you prefer firmer muffins, increase the almond flour.

Finally, this recipe calls for garam masala, which is a spice blend, mostly composed of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and cardamom. I get it at a Mediterranean food market, but I know it is also available in some upscale grocery stores. I’ve found so many uses for this spice blend. I add it to hummus, curries, and a variety of baked goods. I use this spice all the time, so I’d suggest to just go buy a bottle if you don’t have one, but in a pinch you could also sub in some of the spices listed above.

Spiced Sweet Potato Muffins

 
Ingredients (makes 12 muffins)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c sweet potato puree (directions for pureeing are in post)
  • 1/4 c creamy peanut butter
  • 1 Tbs plain Greek yogurt
  • 3 Tbs pure maple syrup
  • 1 c almond meal/flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c chocolate chips or cacao chips
Baking Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the two eggs with a fork until they are a bit frothy.
  3. Stir in sweet potato puree, peanut butter, yogurt and maple syrup.
  4. Add in all remaining ingredients except the chocolate/cacao chips. Once all the dry ingredients are combined stir in the chips.
  5. Line a muffin pan with muffin liners (I used silicone muffin liners, which I love), and fill each muffin tin. These muffins expand some, but not a lot, so you can fill them almost to the top.
  6. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. I rotate the pan once, halfway through the cooking.
  7. Let cool in the pan before eating.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Autumn Harvest and the Benefits of Sweet Potatoes (part 2) | Eat and Be Healthy

  2. Pingback: Homemade sweet potato pie | My Blog

  3. Pingback: Spiced Sweet Potato Muffins | Tasty Kitchen Ideas

  4. I recently made these for myself and guests. They have great texture and moisture! My guests really like them as well. I would prefer them to be a bit on the sweeter side; I will probably use chocolate chips instead of the cacoa chips next time. I look forward to making these with yams and pumpkin puree for a sweeter punch. Maybe even adding dates? I used dark cocoa powder since it is what I had. Thank you for this recipe! I look forward to making them again for my next tea party.

    Reply
    • Thanks, I’m glad you’re enjoying these!
      I think dates and chocolate chips would both make these a bit sweeter, and be a great match taste-wise. I usually use chocolate chips when I bake with sweet potato and that is plenty sweet for me, but I don’t have much of a sweet tooth.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

