RSS Feed

Almond Joy Oatmeal

Posted on

This is one of my current favorite breakfasts. It tastes just like the candy bar, but is totally sugar free! It’s actually a 100% healthy, filling breakfast. What a great way to start the day – with a warm bowl of oats that tastes like candy but is secretly healthy.

Almond-Joy-Oatmeal-Sq

Let’s break down the flavors in this oatmeal. First, there’s chocolate. Chocolate for breakfast – I’m in.  Then there is coconut. I’ve always been a fan of coconut. Coconut with chocolate – even better! Remember when they came out with coconut m&ms a few years ago? I ate a lot of those.

Almond-Joy-Oatmeal-Close

Finally, the almond flavor. To be honest, until recently I could take or leave almonds. When I was working on my eBook last year I bought a bottle of almond extract for some of the recipes. There’s something about that strong almond flavor that just melts in my mouth. The GF Candy Cane Cookies from my eBook were one of my favorites. I enjoyed every single bite of those. Well, now I’m all about almond flavored things. Almond butter is a new found favorite ingredient for me. I made these mints (but un-vegan), and the almond chocolate ones were seriously amazing. I brought them on a weekend family trip. At the end of the weekend I traded the leftover mints with my mother in law for basically all of her remaining food + some incredibly soft toilet paper.

Anyway, I digress. Chocolate + Almond + Coconut + HEALTHY = winning breakfast combination.

Since I mentioned my eBook, can I insert a shameless plug here? If you read this blog and enjoy the recipes, please help me keep it going by buying a copy of the eBook! I have plans to expand this blog to a more sophisticated site with easier to read recipes, better site navigation, and a much nicer recipe index. All funds from eBook sales will go straight into improving the blog! Plus, you’ll have a few new cookies recipes! You can check out my eBook page, or go right to my Selz page to purchase it. Thanks for reading my blog, trying my recipes, liking my posts, and leaving encouraging comments! I appreciate all of your support!

Almond-Joy-Oatmeal-Tall

Almond Joy Oatmeal

As written, this oatmeal is sweetened only with banana. If you find that isn’t sufficient sweetness for your tastes, try adding 1 – 2 tablespoons of sugar.
 
Ingredients
  • 1/2 c GF oats
  • 1/2 c almond milk (or other milk of choice)
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 2 Tbs shredded coconut (unsweetened)
Directions
  1. Combine the oats, almond milk, and water in a small sauce and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium.
  2. Stir in the cocoa powder, making sure it dissolves completely, and then the banana. Let cook, stirring frequently, until much of the liquid is absorbed (under 10 minutes).
  3. Add the almond extract. Cook a few minutes longer, until the oatmeal reaches your desired consistency. Personally, I like to have nearly all of the liquid absorbed.
  4. Sprinkle with the shredded coconut before eating.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

4 responses »

  1. That looks and sounds so yummy!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: How To: Make Banana Sweetened Oatmeal (+ tons of flavor variations) | Tastefully Gluten Free

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #9 | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

