RSS Feed

Flourless Chocolate Peanut Butter Reese’s Stuffed Cookies

Posted on

This is a because-I-bought-a-bunch-of-Easter-candy-on-sale-and-won’t-just-eat-candy recipe.

Flourless-Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Reese's-Stuffed-Cookies-Front

I’ve never been a big candy eater. I was the kid who spent more time sorting and trading my halloween candy than actually eating. In October, my Dad would have us clean out the uneaten candy from the previous Halloween before we went trick or treating again. Apparently kids + uneaten candy is abnormal. That was news to me. Now, I feel guilty just eating some candy. I guess something about putting it in a cookie makes me feel better, like I’m getting more for my calories.

So, yes, Sunday was Easter and that meant that on Monday I was scouring the stores looking for post Easter bargains. I had the best luck at a semi-sketchy grocery store just up the road and Aldi. I scored a bunch of bags of bite sized candy bars for between 50% and 75% off. Mostly, Steve will eat the candy over the next few months. For my fun, I decided to bake with it. And, truthfully, the bargain hunting for the candy in the first place was pretty fun, too.

These cookies are flourless. It’s great for anyone on a GF diet, and an excellent choice for anyone who isn’t familiar with GF baking but wants to bake for someone with a gluten intolerance. There are no crazy, expensive flours in the recipe and all of the ingredients are pretty normal items in the pantry (except the reese’s). The dough whips up in 5 minutes in a stand mixer, and just a minute or two more if you stir it by hand.

Flourless-Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Reese's-Stuffed-Cookies-1

I love that these cookies are double chocolate and double peanut butter. The best dessert combination x 2! The cookie base has cocoa powder and peanut butter before even adding in the reese’s candy. The baked cookies end up having an mouthwatering swirl of reese’s. Any peanut butter and chocolate lover will enjoy these cookies, whether they are on a GF diet or not!

Flourless-Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Reese's-Stuffed-Cookies-2

P.S. If you like these cookies, try these other flourless cookie recipes:

Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Flourless Chocolate Pretzel Cookies

Flourless m&m Cookies

Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Reese’s Stuffed Cookies

Ingredients
  • 1 c creamy peanut butter
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c cocoa powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I use imitation vanilla)
  • 1 c roughly chopped Reese’s eggs/cup (I used 8 Reese’s eggs to get 1 c)
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment (or with a strong arm and a spoon) mix the peanut butter, brown sugar, cocoa powder, egg, baking soda, and vanilla until very well combined.
  3. Stir in the chopped Reese’s, gently.
  4. Prepare a cookie sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper.
  5. Roll 1-2 tablespoons of dough into a balls and place them about 2 inches apart on the baking sheet. I got 24 balls out of the dough, spread over 2 baking sheets.
  6. Bake for 12 minutes, rotating the baking sheets at the halfway point.
  7. The cookies will still be soft when you remove them from the oven, but will firm up. Be careful not to over cook, the dark color from the cocoa powder can be deceiving!

 

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Meals Weekly (What I Ate Last Week) #1 | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

