RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #5

Posted on

Happy Memorial Day, everyone! I hope you’re actually outside grilling and eating smores, not sitting around inside reading my blog! Holiday or not, it’s Monday, so I’m still posting my line up of foods I ate last week. I hope you can find a few things to try from the list this week! Remember, I’m posting pictures of everything daily on Instagram (tastefullygf) and twitter (@tastefullygf). I also have a Pinterest board with all of the recipes from these posts. It is getting full of recipes!

Monday

We started off last week with oatmeal for breakfast! I also keep bananas and oatmeal on hand so I can whip up some banana sweetened oatmeal for a quick breakfast. I have a tutorial on making banana sweetened oatmeal, with a whole bunch of flavor ideas!

Banana-Oatmeal-with-Almond-Butter

Lunch was surely leftovers, but I wasn’t paying much attention because I was looking forward to dinner. Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash! I have a new found love of spaghetti squash, and buffalo flavored anything is always a favorite of mine. The combination? So, so, perfect! I loosely used this recipe from Gal on a Mission. I roast the squash in two halves, replace most of the cream cheese with greek yogurt, and use my own mix of healthier ranch dressing. I cut the amount of cheddar cheese in half, too. Honestly, it still tasted spicy, and was totally creamy, even with my healthy modifications. If you’re a fan of buffalo chicken you’ll want to try this recipe out!

Sorry for the lousy picture. I was ready to eat!

Sorry for the lousy picture. I was ready to eat!

Tuesday

Breakfast was sweet potatoes with baked eggs. This is a combination we both love and eat over and over again. A favorite version involved baking sweet potatoes and sausage ahead of time, and then cooking with the eggs on the day you want to serve the dish. To cut down on time and oven use, I cut up the sweet potatoes and cooked them on the stove top. A little salt and olive oil for flavor, and then top with eggs and bake.

Gluten-Free-Sweet-Potato-and-Eggs

I had totally called the leftover buffalo chicken spaghetti squash for lunch, but then Steve took my portion accidentally. Or maybe not so accidentally! That was a good dinner!

Dinner was Szechuan Green Beans and Turkey from The Lemon Bowl. This is a tried and true recipe. It’s quick, healthy, and has all the flavors of Asian take out. I make this at least once a month (that’s often for me) and it’s always enjoyed! The only modification I make is finding a substitute for the hoisin sauce. I’ve yet to find a GF variety (has anyone? Please tell me if you know of one) I always sub in extra soy sauce or oyster sauce.

Gluten-Free-Szechuan-Green-Beans-and-Ground-Turkey

Wednesday

Wednesday was a crazy day. For Steve’s birthday I made his favorite breakfast, baked oatmeal.

I spent the rest of the afternoon baking and cooking for a small party in the evening. A few of these delicious, little muffins ended up being my lunch.

Grain-Free-Banana-Chocolate-Muffins

Other party food was this BBQ Chex Mix, corn on the cob, Thai Chicken Quinoa Bowls, and some wheat filled cupcakes with chocolate buttercream frosting.

Thursday

I was tired, and microwaved leftover chocolate muffins made a very fulfilling breakfast.

We were out of leftovers (at least that anyone wanted to eat right then), so I made some Tomato Risotto with Asparagus for lunch. Tomato and asparagus is a very (unexpectedly, at least to me) good flavor combination. The bland risotto is the perfect palate to mix the two flavors.

Tomato-Risotto-With-Asparagus

Dinner was sweet potato noodles, kale pesto, and crispy parmesan chicken. Steve made the sweet potato noodles for me using a mandolin. I really just threw the chicken together randomly, trying to get some more protein into the meal. I even cooked it in the toaster oven, which seemed doomed to fail, but it came out crispy on the outside, moist on the inside, and with a much stronger parmesan taste than I’d expected for the couple tablespoons I’d used for flavor. Don’t you love when your cooking experiments work out?! The sweet potato noodles and pesto were inspired by this recipe.

Gluten-Free-Parmesan-Crusted-Chicken-with-Sweet-Potato-Noodles-and-Pesto

Friday

More oatmeal for breakfast! What can I say? It’s delicious, easily variable, and it actually keeps me full until lunch.

I had Tuesday’s leftovers, the szechuan green beans and turkey, for lunch. The green beans were a little mushier than they had been originally, but the flavor was all there!

For dinner I made zucchini noodles for the first time! It was exciting! I also made a spicy meat sauce (a recipe I made up when I was about 12) to go with the noodles. It all tasted good, but making the noodles was obnoxious. The julienne peeler I got just wasn’t working great. The zucchini kept clogging the peeler. We finished all of the noodles though, so in the end it was a success.

Zucchini-Pasta-with-Spicy-Meat-Sauce

Saturday

I made good use of the leftover zucchini ends from Friday’s noodles and shredded them for zucchini pancakes. I eat these plain, but Steve rolls them up like a crepe and fills the pancakes with chocolate chips and hazelnuts. These zucchini pancakes started off as this recipe from Pinch of Yum, but have transformed quite a bit since I first made the recipe a few months ago.

Gluten-Free-Zucchini-Pancakes

I had a good variety of leftovers for lunch; basically a little bit of everything that was in the refrigerator.

Dinner was Spicy Lime Tilapia with Cilantro Lime Rice. The tilapia recipe is awesome! First off, you prepare everything in foil packets, so no dishes! Secondly, there’s got to be at least two servings of vegetables in each packet. Third, taste! The taste is a winner. It’s not over the top like some things I tend to enjoy. All the natural flavors of the food complement each other and you really don’t need any other seasoning. The cilantro lime rice is a great way to get in some needed carbs and the lime flavors brings the entire meal together.

Spicy-Lime-Tilapia-with-Cilantro-Lime-Rice

Sunday

I made “Toad in a Hole” for breakfast. Otherwise known as “Egg in a Hole” and other various titles. I made two for me first, using GF bread, and then Steve’s, using wheat bread. Easy, and a lot cheaper than using all gluten free bread!

Toad-in-a-hole

We were out most of the morning and afternoon, so I had a smoothie when I got home and then an early, big dinner. Burgers, corn on the cob and Cauliflower tater tots. The Cauliflower tater tots are actually buffalo flavored. I use this recipe as the base, but change up a few things (less cheese, a flax egg (because I was out of real eggs), almond meal instead of bread crumbs). My finished cauliflower tots were 25 calories each, which was great, because I ate half the pan.

I have a thing about flavoring hamburgers. I always make a variety of flavored burgers. This night we had Thai Burgers and Buffalo Ranch Bungers (someday I’ll post this recipe – I have photos but they are pretty disappointing and just don’t do the burgers justice).

Burgers-Cauliflower-Tots-Corn

This week we’ve been snaking on some homemade mango fruit leather, party leftovers, and this Sriracha White Bean Dip. Try the dip with GF pretzels, it’s delicious!

See you next week with another weekly meal round up!

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

