RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #5

Posted on

Happy Monday, everyone! I feel kind of silly saying “happy” about a Monday, because that is just so often NOT the emotion anyone feels about a Monday. It’s sunny, not a billion degrees outside, I’m back to exercising after taking a yoga-only rest week, and the technician is here to fix our broken a/c. It’s feeling like a happy Monday to me!

Monday is usually the day I do meal planning for the week. So, today, I’ll plan and grocery shop for this coming week, but post about everything I ate last week. It’s just a food filled day for me! Well, I must say, we are some reeeaaallly good food last week. I mean, really good. Not only tasty, but healthy. It’s going to be hard to top! Enjoy these ideas and recipes, and hopefully I’ll have some ideas that are just as good for the coming week.

Monday

Monday was Memorial Day! We left home very shortly after waking up to go play ultimate frisbee. I ate some oatmeal in the car and had some granola bars in hand for snack. What a good workout the frisbee was! We had 5 players on each team (luckily, I wasn’t the only girl), and basically ran for two and a half hours. I got home starving, and ate a little bit of everything that was left in the refrigerator.

For dinner I made grilled pizza. You gotta grill something on Memorial Day, and pizza is always a special treat. I spent a good deal of time working on my gluten free pizza dough recipe, and it’s great for grilling! Although that recipe is geared towards baking the pizza on a stone, if you are familiar with the pizza grilling technique I’m sure you’ll have no problem adapting it! On this particular night I made a simple pizza with mozzarella, turkey pepperoni, and basil.

Gluten-Free-Grilled-Pizza

Tuesday

This is a little embarrassing, but I can’t remember what I had for breakfast on Tuesday! I think it was oatmeal. I mean, it must have been oatmeal, since that is my go-to breakfast. But it’s not listed in my meal plan notes and I don’t have a picture of it. I know I ate breakfast, I just have no clue what it was.

For dinner I made this Spicy Zucchini Fritatta. I’ve made this once before, and I just love this recipe. Easy. Tasty. Quick. Healthy. We sat down at the table to eat and I said “mmmmmm veggies”.¬† I’m still learning to eat all the vegetables I need to, and this is a great way to get in a whole bunch in one meal!

Spicy-Zucchini-Fritatta-Gluten-Free

 Wednesday

For breakfast on Wednesday I attempted a new recipe. These Cauliflower Quinoa Cakes with Eggs sounded like a great way to get some veggies and protein into my breakfast! As you can see from the picture, my cakes totally fell apart. I did cut the amount of cheese in half, and that certainly could have been the reason the recipe didn’t quite work. Luckily, with food, appearance isn’t everything. I added a bit of salt to my quinoa and eggs and it still made a nutritious breakfast.

Qunioa-Cauliflower-Eggs-Gluten-Free

I had leftover fritatta from Tuesday’s dinner for lunch. Usually I hate repeats and eating the same thing two days in a row, but the flavor + the “this is good for you” totally won me over.

Dinner was Chipotle Chicken Avocado Burgers, sweet potato fries, and corn. We had an issue with the grill, and then a scheduling issue, and didn’t end up eating until like 9pm. And by then it was way too dark to take a decent picture. I’ve made these burgers before though, and have the recipe waiting to be posted this week, so I snagged one of those photos. Check back later this week (probably Wednesday) for the recipe!

IMG_0648

Thursday

I had banana oatmeal for breakfast and this time I know it! I actually had an epic oatmeal fail. It looks so yummy in the picture, and in my mind it was the best oatmeal I’ve ever came up with, but in actuality it was too sweet! I didn’t finish the bowl! I’ve been trying to eat more in the mornings to fill myself up, and I thought almond butter + chocolate chips would be a great way to make my breakfast more calorie heavy. I forgot it would make it more sweetness heavy, too. I think this would have worked much better if I’d just topped the oatmeal with a few less chocolate chips. So, try these banana oatmeal topping at your own risk!

Banana-Sweetened-Oatmeal-with-Almond-Butter-Chocolate-Chips-Gluten-Free

I had the last bit of the zucchini fritatta for lunch, and was seriously starving when it came time for dinner. Luckily, I had something hearty planned, this beef stroganoff. I followed the directions almost exactly, just leaving out the mushrooms, mostly, because no one here likes them. The potato noodles were great and added a “fun” element to the dinner. I also made some steamed green beans to go along with the stroganoff.

Gluten-Free-Beef-Stroganoff

Friday

Breakfast on Friday was hashbrowns with baked eggs. I shared this recipe in a previous post, and have been adapting it to suit my cooking style, portion sizes, etc. I’ve been using a combination of sweet potato and regular potato. I cut the potatoes ahead of time, so the work in the morning is minimal. Believe it or not, this recipe is not difficult. It’s a bit of work for a busy morning, but I find it has less hands on time than even a batch of pancakes!

Baked-Eggs-with-Hashbrown-Crust

I posted a picture of a smoothie on Instagram on Friday. I have smoothies A LOT. I try not to make a smoothie a meal, actually (contrary to the food trend), but in a pinch it’s a great option. This one was banana chocolate! It’s like dessert in the middle of the day. No recipe here, I just kinda of throw stuff in the blender. It usually works!

Banana-Chocolate-Smoothie
Dinner on Friday was spaghetti squash! I am a bit obsessed with spaghetti squash right now. I get so excited when I know spaghetti squash is coming up on the menu. This was the second time I made Baked Spaghetti Squash with Sriracha and Turkey. This is spicy! I used the full amount of sriracha, but definitely second what the original poster says about omitting the hot sauce if you’re not a fan of spice! If you are a big fan of hot and spicy food then you will LOVE this! I am a spicy food lover, so this is a favorite meal of mine.

Spaghetti-Squash-Turkey-Sriracha-Gluten-Free

Saturday

On Saturday I made these coconut flour pancakes. According to Steve, who knows what real pancakes should taste like, these were the closest GF version yet! Wahoo! Looking at the ingredient list (3 bananas and 6 eggs!) I made a half batch, which yielded 14  3-4 inch pancakes. Luckily, we ate these at 10:30am, so lunch was soon! When you try these just go ahead and make a full batch. You can always save the leftovers, if there are any!

Coconut-Flour-Pancakes-Gluten-Free

For lunch on Saturday I combined two leftovers for some sweet potatoes and spicy pasta sauce. No pics, though :(
Dinner was Zucchini Noodles with Chicken, Spinach, and Feta. I loosely used this recipe from Inspiralized, but I didn’t really measure anything (that’s where the loosely following the recipe comes in). I also marinated the chicken before cooking, which added a ton of flavor. The zucchini noodles were perfectly al dente and soaked up a lot of the flavoring from the chicken. The feta was just such a perfect flavor enhancer, too!

Zucchini-Noodles-Spinach-Chicken-Feta-Gluten-Free

Sunday

For breakfast I reheated the rest of the quinoa/cauliflower I’d made earlier in the week and cooked a few over easy eggs to go with it. Steve topped his with feta this time and said it was really good!

The rest of the day was leftovers and no pictures. Opps!

So that’s brings me to the end of the week! Lots of good recipes, so give them a try! Happy Cooking!

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

One response »

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

