RSS Feed

Sweet Potato & Egg Breakfast Skillet

Posted on

Three ingredient, make ahead breakfast with eggs and sweet potatoes. It’s simple, but not lacking in flavor. A great healthy start to the day!

Sweet-Potato-Egg-Breakfast-Skillet-Front

A few months ago I spotted this Sweet Potato Hash recipe on the Kitchn (one of my absolute favorite cooking blogs). Honestly, it didn’t look super appetizing to me, but it sounded like something I’d be happy to get up and eat in the morning. Breakfasts here were a little rough around the edges at that time. It was always a “what do you want to eat today” type of deal. Which seems pointless, looking back, because there were really only two things we were eating for breakfast; oatmeal and cereal. So, I got the ingredients for this new recipe, followed the directions to a tee, and it was just as delicious as I’d imagined it to be.

Comparing my version below, and the original recipe you can see a lot of changes have been made. Mostly, things have been simplified and “southern-ified” (avoiding turning on the oven as much as possible when the temperature is so high). Would I still make the full recipe for a brunch of special occasion? Absolutely! Do I like my version better for weekday breakfast? Yup!

Sweet-Potato-Egg-Breakfast-Skillet-Square

I always prepare the sweet potatoes ahead of time. I dice them, cook them, and then store in the refrigerator until I’m ready to use them for a breakfast (just use them sometime within a week!). The morning I want to make this breakfast skillet I pull out the already-cooked sweet potatoes and eggs and layer them in my Calphalon skillet. Bake for about 15 minutes and breakfast is ready!

Sweet-Potato-Egg-Breakfast-Skillet-Containers

Have I mentioned before how much I love this calphalon pan? It’s oven safe, which makes it my go-to pan for this recipe. It’s also safe for use with metal utensils, which is a biggie for me. I hate having to use only certain things with certain pans. I’ve found that even though it’s not coated with teflon it’s still surprisingly nonstick-like. Just a spray of cooking oil and none of these eggs or sweet potatoes stick to the pan ONE BIT! And eggs are sticky – this is saying a lot! These pans are elegant looking, and clean up so quickly and easily (check out the pictures, that skillet looks brand new), so you can keep them in great condition. I’m all about buying quality products that last, not getting something cheap and then needing to replace it just months later. Plus, I’m a lot more likely to make a fancy breakfast like this if I know the clean up will only take 30 seconds!

Sweet-Potato-Egg-Breakfast-Skillet-Over

Anyway, back to the food.

The directions below will get you two separate breakfasts (If you’re making food ahead of time, why not make extra? More food, same effort!), but you can very easily make more or less, or even vary the egg to sweet potato ratio. I always cook this with over-medium eggs. If you prefer solid yolks, cook them a bit longer. Softer yolks, a bit less. Personally, I find a runny egg yolk over my sweet potatoes + a dash of salt to be one of the most perfect, savory breakfasts out there!

Sweet-Potato-Egg-Breakfast Skillet-Tall

Sweet Potato & Egg Breakfast Skillet

This recipe is written to make enough sweet potatoes for two breakfasts. I bake 4 eggs with each batch of sweet potatoes, which feeds two people. To serve more people, try adding extra eggs, or just baking all the sweet potatoes and eggs at once.
 
Ingredients
  • 2 lb sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 8 eggs (4 eggs each, for 2 total breakfast skillets)
Directions
  1. Add the diced sweet potatoes and olive oil to a large non-stick skillet.  Cook for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the sweet potatoes are tender (I test using a fork – if the fork easily goes in, the potatoes are ready). Let the cooked potatoes cool before putting them in an airtight container. Store in the refrigerator for up to a week before using.
  2. The morning you want to serve, preheat the oven to 425° F.
  3. Spray an oven-safe skillet with cooking spray (I use misto). Add a layer of potatoes (about half of the total made in step 1). Crack 4 eggs on top, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  4. Bake for about 15 minutes. Check frequently near the end to see if the eggs are cooked. Serve hot.
  5. Save the remaining sweet potatoes and eggs to make another morning.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

15 responses »

  1. Wow that looks absolutely spectacular! Love a good egg dish and that is definitely a winner :)

    Happy Blogging!
    Happy Valley Chow

    Reply
  2. I’m gluten free! This seems awesome! Check out my blog! allthingssweetpotato.com

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #11 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. Pingback: 10 Nutrients Every Woman Needs | Zen & Spice

  5. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meal (What I Ate Last Week) #12 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  6. I’m not GF, but I love your blog. I actually make a dish VERY similar to this, except I add rosemary to the potatoes and top it off with avocado (when in season) they are amazing!

    Reply
    • Abby, thanks for stopping by and letting me know you enjoy the blog. It is always so nice to hear:) Your version sounds SO delicious! I’m definitely going to give it a try!

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Gluten Free Meals Weekly (What I Ate Last Week) #14 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  8. Pingback: 100 Healthiest Paleo Diet Recipes of All-Time | Paleo Grubs

  9. Pingback: 100 Healthiest Paleo Diet Recipes of All-Time - The Fat Loss Factor Program 2.0

  10. Pingback: 100 Healthiest Paleo Diet Recipes of All-Time | Get Fit Bookmark

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

