RSS Feed

Easy Greek Lemon Soup (aka Avgolemono)

Posted on

This is my sick soup.

Image

I eat it when I’m not sick, too, though.

I say that I love to cook. Usually the more complicated the recipe, the most I want to make it. Cooking is an adventure to me. When I’m sick I want to lay on the sofa in yoga pants all day, not have another kitchen adventure. Enter Greek Lemon Soup.

Image

Technically called Avgolemono, this Mediterranean soup is characterized by an egg and lemon mixture that is added to the broth. A more authentic recipe would have a few more ingredients, including chicken.

My Mom taught me how to make this soup, using a recipe from a neighbor. That was years ago though, and I haven’t actually used that recipe in so long. My version has probably morphed somewhat from the original recipe. Well, it definitely has, because I no longer measure the ingredients. I really had to fight my instincts and measure everything out to get this into an useable recipe.

So, remember this recipe the next time you have a cold or a flu. Being sick sucks. This soup doesn’t.

Image

Easy Greek Lemon Soup (Avgolemono)

Ingredients
  • 4c chicken stock
  • 1/3c rice
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 3 Tbs lemon juice
Cooking Directions
  1. Bring chicken stock and rice to boil, then reduce to a simmer.
  2. While the soup is simmering separate the eggs. Put the yolks in a bowl.
  3. Add the lemon juice to the egg yolks, and whisk with a fork.
  4. When the rice is cooked ladle a few spoonfuls of broth into the yolk/lemon mixture, whisking while you pour (photo directions of this step are below).
  5. Add this mixture back into the soup pot, again, stirring while you pour.
  6. Optional: top with pepper, oregano, or basil.

Photo Directions

Image

Egg yolks

Image

Whisk egg yolks and lemon juice

Image

Yolk/lemon mixture with a few ladles of broth mixed in

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Chip Meringues | Tastefully Gluten Free

  2. Pingback: PGF: Pesto Chicken & Lemon Kale Sandwiches | Tastefully Gluten Free

  3. Pingback: Lemon Lentil Soup | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #4 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  5. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #9 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  6. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #10 | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

