RSS Feed

PGF: Turkey Sloppy Joes

Posted on

Although I have never eaten sloppy joes on a regular basis I have always liked the idea of them. As a kid I loved to cook. That often involved helping Mom make Hamburger Helper or Dad make tacos. Basically, I was a pro at making things that involved ground beef, and I knew it. Thanks to commercials for the canned sloppy joes I knew they also involved ground beef. It seemed right up my cooking alley. My Mom had a recipe for my grandmother’s sloppy joes tucked away in her cooking binder and we made it occasionally. Another meal was added to my ground beef repertoire!

Turkey Sloppy Joes

Now that I am an adult and have increased my cooking skills I’m not so attached to my ground beef recipes. I actually have some major beefs (pun totally intended) with traditional sloppy joes!

First, and most obviously, the bread. A few years ago, when celiac disease was not as well known as it is now, all the GF bread was awful. I would just turn it into breadcrumbs because, honestly, it basically came out of the package in crumbs already! Now we have Udi’s bread, which is probably the only bread I’ve ever liked in my entire life. My favorite is the GF whole grain, with the green and yellow package.

Turkey Sloppy Joes

Second, the beef. I’m not really an anti-beef person, but I do usually limit it to one meal per week just because I know that lean meats are a better choice. Luckily, when it comes to ground beef, swapping it out for ground turkey is so easy and it tastes almost exactly the same.

Third, the processed foods. This recipe does not make use of canned sloppy joe mix. Most homemade versions of sloppy joes use either ketchup or BBQ sauce for the base, but I go with plain tomato sauce.

Turkey Sloppy Joes

This recipe comes together quickly and easily and is on the table in under 20 minutes. Since the sandwiches are made separately, it’s easy to make a few using GF bread and some using wheat bread. You’ll save a few dollars by not serving everyone at the table GF bread! Enjoy!

Sweet potatoes fries complimented these sloppy joe sandwiches perfectly.

Sweet potatoes fries complimented these sloppy joe sandwiches perfectly.

Turkey Sloppy Joes

 
Ingredients
  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp McCormick Fiery 5 Pepper steak seasoning (can be substitute for any variety of meat seasoning that suits your taste)
  • 3 tsp stevia (if you are using granulated sugar, up the amount to 2-3 Tbs)
  • 3 Tbs worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbs white distilled vinegar
  • half of a 15 oz can of tomato sauce (or use an 8oz can for a more sauce-y mixture)
  • GF sandwich bread or rolls (I used Udi’s)
  • Regular sandwich bread or rolls
Cooking Directions
  1. Brown the group turkey over medium high heat with the steak seasoning and stevia/sugar.
  2. After the turkey has browned lower the heat to medium and add the chopped onion, worcestershire, and vinegar. Cook for about 5 minutes, until the onions soften.
  3. Stir in the tomato sauce and cook for about 5 more minutes, to let the flavors combine. If the sauce is bubbling too much turn the heat down.
  4. When the meat mixture is ready make your gluten free sandwiches first. I scooped about 1/2c of mixture onto my bread, but the amount you use will depend on the size of your bread.
  5. Finally, make the sandwiches on wheat bread (if you are celiac make sure to wash your hands after you handle the wheat bread). Serve the GF and wheat sandwiches on separate plates.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

