RSS Feed

Huevos Rancheros

What do I have to say about Huevos Rancheros?

Well, I have no idea how similar this recipe is to authentic huevos rancheros.
I think of huevos rancheros as, basically, a breakfast taco. You have all of the usual taco toppings, but you’re topping an egg, not a meat.

I first had these for breakfast at a friend’s house last summer. She made them with fried tortillas. So delicious, but not very healthy. I experimented with a few tortilla crisping methods and broiling worked the best.

IMG_4615

I got my mom hooked on huevos rancheros, so we made some for breakfast the last time I was visiting. Fun story: The tortillas had been under the broiler for a few minutes, and mom was taking a shower while my sister, cousins and I made breakfast. I opened the oven door to check on the torillas, and the whole inside of the oven was engulfed inflames. The four of us were flipping out! I turned the oven off, and the flame eventually went out on its own. The tortillas were black piles of ash and the pan they were on was ruined (Oppps). The entire house smelled of smoke, and we couldn’t hide that from my mom.

Don’t let my story scare you! This is the only time I’ve ever set a fire while cooking, and I have successfully made huevos rancheros many times. This is a simple 10 minute breakfast, perfect if you prefer something savory, or even spicy in the morning. And it will remain super quick and simple whether you make one portion or 10 portions. Maybe just keep a fire estinguisher nearby, hahahaha!

IMG_4621

Heuvos Rancheros

Ingredients
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 corn tortillas (find my homemade corn tortillas recipe here)
  • 1/4c shredded cheese (try a Mexican blend, or cheddar)
  • 2 Tbs salsa or taco sauce
  • green onions, cilantro, sour cream (or Greek yogurt) for topping
Cooking Directions
  1. Fill a large skillet about halfway with water. Bring to a boil.
  2. When water is boiling, crack each egg into the water and reduce heat to a simmer.
  3. The eggs will be done in about 3-5 minutes, when the whites are firm. You can cook longer if you like your yolks firm, as well. Remove the eggs from the pan with a slotted spoon.
  4. While the eggs are cooking, place the tortillas on an un-greased cookie sheet and put in the oven on broil until they get crispy and start to turn golden brown. Check frequently to avoid any burning tortillas.
  5. Top each tortilla with an egg, and add any of topping you wish. Start with cheese and salsa, and experiment from there.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

