RSS Feed

PGF: Naan Bread

Posted on

I can’t stop eating this bread! It’s actually good!

Usually, I dislike GF bread, but this is made fresh and that seems to make all of the difference. I’ve made this naan bread to go with a few curry dishes. I love curry (I mean it! and the spicier the better!), but I end up filling myself up on bread. In fact, it’s so good that when I make curry dishes I’ve stopped serving them with rice because this naan bread is such a good fit that we don’t even touch the rice.

This bread is not just a side dish for Indian/curry meals. I somehow ended up with a piece leftover after I last made this bread and had it for lunch with some tomato soup. So good! It reheats perfectly in the microwave.

Let’s talk about texture for a minute. I was flipping out about this bread, but before I decided to call it the most amazing GF bread I’ve ever had I wanted to get another opinion. I’d made half the batch GF for myself and the other half batch with wheat flour for Steve. He ate some of his, thought it was amazing, so I told him to eat some of mine to see how it compared. What was his response? The only difference he could come up with between the GF and regular naan was that the inside of the GF version looked different. Fresh GF bread that tastes exactly the same as the regular version? I’ll take it!

The wheat flour Naan bread

The GF Naan bread

 

Naan Bread

This recipe is written to make half of the batch GF and half of the batch with wheat flour. You can easily adjust quantities to make more or less or each. If you want suggestions for adjusting quantities let me know.
 
Ingredients (makes 4 GF and 4 regular)
  • 1/4 c hot tap water
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1 c white rice flour
  • 1/2 c tapioca starch
  • 1/2 c potato starch
  • 3 tsp xanthan gum
  • 2 tsp unflavored gelatin powder
  • 2 c wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder (divided in half)
  • 1 tsp baking soda (divided in half)
  • 1 c plain greek yogurt (divided in half)
  • 3/4 c almond milk or other milk of choice (divided in half)
  • salt and garlic powder, to taste
Cooking Directions
  1. Dissolve the sugar in the hot tap water. Add the yeast, and let this mixture sit for about 10 minutes. It will foam.
  2. While the yeast mixture is sitting, make the flour mixtures. In one bowl, combine white rice flour, tapioca starch, potato starch, xanthan gum, and gelatin powder. This is the GF bowl. In the second bowl (preferably on a different table/countertop area than the GF bowl), measure out the wheat flour.
  3. Add 1/2 a tsp of baking powder and baking soda to each bowl, adding to the GF bowl first.
  4. Add 1/2 c of yogurt to each bowl, and half of the almond milk (just measure out 3/4 c and then eyeball half. That’s what I’ve always done and it’s turned out fine each time), again, adding each to the GF bowl first.
  5. By now, the yeast mixture should be foamy. Eyeballing it, add half of the mixture to each bowl, starting with the GF bowl.
  6. Using separate spoons, stir the contents of each bowl thoroughly.
  7. Cover each bowl with a towel and let them rise, at least 1 hour up to overnight.
  8. After the dough has risen, divide the GF dough into four pieces. Flatten each piece into an oblong shape. If the dough is sticky, spray your hands and working area with a bit of cooking spray. Spray each uncooked piece of bread with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt and/or garlic powder, if desired.
  9. Heat a nonstick skillet (that has a fitting lid) to medium high heat (I set my stove top to 6, on a 1 – 10 dial). When the skillet is warm place a piece of uncooked bread in the skillet and cover immediately. Check the bottom of the bread after a minute or two, and flip when the bottom has blackened in a few spots. Let cook for another minute or two on the other side, with the lid on the pan. Repeat the cooking process with the remaining 3 GF bread pieces.
  10. When the GF bread has cooked, form the wheat dough into 4 oblong shapes and repeat the exact same cooking process.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Favorites Recipes of 2013 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  2. Pingback: “Butter” Chicken | Tastefully Gluten Free

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #6 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. This recipe word read so much easier if you separated the recipes verses combining the GF & wheat.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the feedback! When writing this recipe, I actually intended to make it one recipe that could be split to make half GF and half with wheat flour. I often do this for my family cooking and figured others out there may be interested in doing the same. It seems easier to just make one recipe than two. It’s always good to know what readers are looking for, though, so I can make future recipes better!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

