RSS Feed

Pumpkin Oatmeal & Big News!

Posted on

I’ve been working on a big project. It’s an eBook! Specifically, a GF Christmas cookie eBook!

I’ve been baking dozens and dozen of cookies, taking lots of photos, and learning to use iBooks Author. The eBook will have a couple of naturally GF, flourless cookie recipes along with a collection of traditional Christmas cookie recipes reworked to make a portion of the batch with GF flour and portion with wheat flour.

I still have some work to do on the eBook, but it will be completed in December, in time for your holiday baking, or to give to a GF friend as a holiday gift! If you’d like to receive a few email updates about the eBook (when I launch it, when it is available on the Kindle and iBooks Store, etc) click here to sign up for the updates. Everyone who signs up for the email updates will also be entered in a contest to receive a free copy of the eBook! So, sign up for those emails here! I promise I won’t spam you in any way!

Now, onto today’s recipe: Pumpkin Oatmeal!

I LOVE pumpkin. Pumpkin pie, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin spice drinks, I’ll take them all! I was pretty excited to add some pumpkin to my oatmeal and see what kind of delicious, pumpkin flavored breakfast I could get. It took a few tries, but I did eventually come up with something I was happy with.IMG_6303

This oatmeal is sweetened with honey. I use a teaspoon, but you may have to adjust according to your tastes. This is yummy plain, topped with chopped nuts, or chocolate chips. Really, try the chocolate chips, even if you like it plain. Pumpkin + chocolate is a winning combination!

IMG_7696

 

Pumpkin Oatmeal

Ingredients
  • 1/3 c Gluten free oats
  • 1/3 c almond milk (or other milk of choice)
  • 1/3 c water
  • 3 Tbs pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp honey
  • Optional: Chopped nuts for topping
  • Optional: Chocolate chips for topping
Directions
  1. In a small saucepan bring oats, almond milk, and water to a boil.
  2. As soon as the liquid begins boiling stir and turn the heat down to medium-low.
  3. As the oats are cooking stir every once in a while to prevent sticking to the bottom of the pan. When most of the liquid has absorbed stir in the pumpkin puree, followed by the honey.
  4. Continue cooking until the oatmeal reaches your desired consistency.
  5. Eat plain, or top with chopped nuts or chocolate chips.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Favorites Recipes of 2013 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  2. I made this today for breakfast. Wow, those chocolate chips really change it up in a good way! I love the subtleness of the pumpkin. I sprinkled some cinnamon on top to finish the dish. Thank you!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: How To: Make Banana Sweetened Oatmeal (+ tons of flavor variations) | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

