RSS Feed

How To: Use & Store Fresh Ginger

Posted on

I’ve had the pictures for this post for a couple of months now. I’ve even scheduled it (and then put something else in it’s place) a few times. Ginger is a common ingredient in stir fries, which I tend to make at least once a week.  Since ginger is an important ingredient to me so I like to always have some on hand, but I keep wondering if anyone else really cares that much about it.

Ultimately, I’ve (obviously) decided to post it. The thing with ginger is that it can go bad quickly and it’s not necessarily the kind of thing you can (or want to) just use up quickly before it goes bad. Since I have a couple recipes calling for ginger on this blog, and will surely have more in the future, I wanted to make sure all of you know how to store it so you’re not stuck with rotting ginger. Yuck!

By freezing ginger in small pieces you will keep it fresher longer and you will get the prep work done all at once. This method is no big culinary secret, but I think it’s something every cook who uses ginger should be aware of. It will really save you time when making meals and you’ll never waste money of rotting ginger again!

So, here’s what you’ll need:

  • Fresh ginger (also called ginger root)
  • Vegetable peeler
  • Cutting board
  • Knife
  • Glass jar, or other freezer safe container

The first thing to do it peel the skin off of the ginger with a vegetable peeler. It will come off easily. The hard part may be getting around some of the bumps and in the crevasses. My peeler has a nice tip on it that I can use to get into small spaces. If a section is going to be difficult to peel, just cut the ginger in such a way that makes it easy to peel. You’re going to be cutting it anyway, so it’s no problem if you have to make a few slices to get the peeling done.  You’ll see in this next picture that I had to cut one of my ginger pieces into three sections to get the whole thing peeled.

IMG_5896

Now that the ginger is peeled, cut it up into small pieces. The general rule of thumb is 1 inch pieces. Personally, I like to cut mine into a variety of sizes so that I can choose one that is just the right size for what I am cooking.

IJCXB

Finally, put all of your peeled ginger pieces into a jar or other freezer safe container (for the longest time, I had ginger stored in an empty Nutella container). Stored in the freezer, the ginger will last a long time. To be honest, I’m not exactly sure how long it will last. Does anyone know? I have never had any ginger go bad when stored this way in the freezer!

IMG_5926

When you’re ready to use your ginger take however much you need out of the jar in the freezer. I usually like to leave that piece out for a couple minutes to warm up before slicing or mincing it. Using a chef knife, the frozen ginger is very easy to slice thinly. You can use these ginger slices as is (we’ve used this for making tea – not sure if that is normal or not), or mince them for use in a sauce or stir fry.

There you have it: how to store ginger!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

