RSS Feed

Quinoa Pilaf

Posted on

As I’ve been blogging and talking about quinoa I’ve realized that I never make or serve plain quinoa. Very occasionally I’ll switch things up a bit and serve a stir fry with plain quinoa but that is rare. If I’m making quinoa as a side dish I almost always make this pilaf. It’s kind of crazy that it’s taken me months of blogging to post one of my staple recipes!

Quinoa Pilaf 1

The beauty of this quinoa recipe is that it is not significantly more time consuming than making plain quinoa but it tastes a million times better. Rather than cooking the quinoa in water I use chicken stock. It’s an easy substitution that takes NO extra time or energy but makes huge leaps in terms of flavor.

Quinoa Pilaf 4

The rest of the flavor comes from vegetables. If you have good knives it will take you no time to chop up the onion, celery, and carrot that is cooked with the quinoa. I truly enjoy getting out my chef knife and dicing vegetables in no time, but there’s no reason why you couldn’t use the pre-chopped kind you can buy at the grocery store.

Quinoa Pilaf 2

As you may be able to tell from these pictures, I do not rinse my quinoa. I never have. I don’t mind the little white thingys wrapped around the pieces of quinoa, but I don’t know that I’ve ever had rinsed quinoa to compare it with! Honestly, I would try it rinsed, but the quinoa would fall right through the holes in both of my strainers. So, for now all of my quinoa will go un-rinsed.

Rinsed quinoa or not, I know that you will enjoy this pilaf. Don’t be surprised if it makes you want to kick plain old quinoa to the curb 😉

Quinoa Pilaf 3

Quinoa Pilaf

Ingredients
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 large stalk celery, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 c quinoa
  • 2 c chicken stock (or vegetable stock for vegetarian option)
Directions
  1. Heat the olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. When the oil is hot, add the onion, celery, and carrots and cook for about 5 minutes, until the vegetables have softened.
  2. Add the quinoa and chicken stock, stir, and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce the heat to low. Let cook for about 15 minutes, until the liquid has absorbed.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #9 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  2. Pingback: Grilled Lemon Garlic Basil Tilapia | Tastefully Gluten Free

  3. Pingback: Buffalo Ranch Turkey Burgers | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. Pingback: Spicy Lime Foil Packet Tilapia | Tastefully Gluten Free

  5. Pingback: Lemon Garlic Chicken and Zucchini Noodles | Tastefully Gluten Free

  6. Hey! Your site is loading slowly , this kind of went on like a minute
    in order to load up, I actually do not know if it’s just me or maybe your websites then again facebook
    loaded for me. Well, I am going to say thanks for attaching amazing post.
    In my opinion this has already been literally beneficial to visitor who click here.
    I am hoping I will be able to get more awesome content and I also should certainly compliment you
    simply by telling you have carried out good work. I ‘ve got your
    site saved to bookmarks to look at blogs you post.

    Reply
  7. Hey there Twitter operates good but your website is starting
    steadily which had taken around a few minutes to
    be able to load, I don’t know if it’s my personal problem
    or your web site issue. Around the other hand I appreciate you for
    posting splendid articles. Almost everyone who actually came to
    this website should have found this informative article totally helpful.
    I am hoping I’ll be able to get more remarkable things and I also really should compliment by saying
    you have done remarkable job. I now have you saved to my bookmarks to check blog you post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

