RSS Feed

Gluten Free Daniel Fasting

Posted on

Welcome to a very unusual Saturday post on Tastefully Gluten Free!

Today is kind of a big day. Steve and I are starting a Daniel Fast!

If you’re not familiar, fasting is a Christian practice of limiting food combined with prayer that brings you closer to God. A Daniel Fast, in particular, comes from the bible in the book of Daniel. We see Daniel eat certain foods and avoid others for a three week time period. An over simplified way to think of the Daniel Fast is that it is a vegan, sugar free, bread free diet.

This is both daunting and exciting! Since I already have limitations with food I have not done much fasting in the past. It’s a bit nerve wracking to take an already limited diet and cut even more out!

For the duration of our fast I’m going to post what I eat on a daily basis. Hopefully this can give other celiacs help and confidence if they want to do a similar fast. Minimally, at least it will help me remember which meals were successes and which were not, and be a compiliation of fresh, whole, food ideas.

I’ll be back tomorrow with how the first day of the fast went! If the coffee detox isn’t too bad I’ll post some recipes like usual, too!

GF Daniel Fast Days 1 & 2

GF Daniel Fast Days 3 & 4

GF Daniel Fast Days 5 & 6

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Basic Cinnamon Vanilla Oatmeal | Tastefully Gluten Free

  2. Pingback: Why & How I Gave Up Coffee | Tastefully Gluten Free

  3. Pingback: Thai Chili Tofu with Kale & Quinoa | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. I am interested in seeing your Daniel Fast 21 day menu for gluten free eating. I am having to go GF as as result of having a thyroid condition. Wanting to do a Daniel Fast to get me in the mindset and practice of GF living while working on my relationship with God. Thank you for this blog and for your help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

