RSS Feed

GF Daniel Fast: Days 3 & 4

Posted on
Day 3

Breakfast was regular chocolate oatmeal with some no-sugar-added almond butter stirred in. It seems sad to say this as a foodie, but I’d never had almond butter before. The grocery store I usually shop at does not carry almond butter, but since I was at the more gourmet grocery store getting other foods for the fast I decided to try the almond butter. I’m so glad I did! The taste of the almond butter in the oatmeal was subtle, but it seemed to make every mouthful smoother and creamier. I’ll definitely be adding this to my regular morning oatmeal rotation!

DF 3/4 1

For lunch I made a big batch of Spanakorizo (spinach & rice). This has been a favorite lunch of mine for years and the only modification I had to make from my original recipe was to leave out the feta cheese. The favor suffered from lack of feta cheese but I will still defend this meal! With brown rice, spinach, and a few other vegetables this is a wholesome, filling lunch. A little salt went a long way in making up for the feta cheese!

DF 3/4 5

For dinner I made some noodles with cauliflower alfredo sauce and broccoli. I stumbled across these noodles in the international foods section at the grocery store. The only ingredients are buckwheat and sweet potato! A GF and Daniel Fast approved noodle seemed almost too good to be true and I had to try it.

DF 3/4 2

The noodles had a good taste, but didn’t hold up well and clumped up in a big ball. I love cauliflower alfredo so I just slathered the noodle-ball in the sauce. The broccoli was just steamed and sprinkled with salt. Overall I enjoyed the meal, but Steve didn’t as much. Red sauces are more his thing.

DF 3/4 3

Day 4

Yesterday was mostly repeat meals. I started off with the Chocolate Almond Butter Oatmeal again. It was so good the day before I wanted more! Since I had a big batch of Spanakorizo I had more of that for lunch, and some hummus for a snack in the afternoon.

Dinner was Quinoa, Kale, and Thai Tofu. I used this recipe as a guide, but really ended up making something with a very different flavor. I seasoned the quinoa and kale with nothing more than salt. I modified the sauce for the tofu a bit, since I wasn’t going to use the sugar and had no mint leaves on hand. This was probably one of the best tofu dishes I have ever made (I haven’t actually made a whole lot, so that’s not too remarkable).

DF 3/4 4

Over the past couple of days we have been chowing down on these Almond Butter Bites. These are a delicious snack and I would eat them even if I wasn’t fasting! In terms of healthy, naturally gluten free snacks these balls have got to be one of the best I have ever had.

Of course, I’ve still been drinking a lot of water!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Daniel Fasting | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

