RSS Feed

GF Daniel Fast: Days 5 & 6

Posted on
Day 5

I started off day 5 of the fast with a big pot of cinnamon oatmeal. I love cinnamon, so I just ate this oatmeal plain. Steve put some cut up apples in his.

DF 5/6 1

For lunch I made a quinoa polenta with some homemade red sauce. My recipe is based off of this one. I’m a huge polenta fan and this quinoa variation is just as good as any plain cornmeal polenta. The spicy red sauce with the smooth and creamy polenta is a great combination. It’s been unseasonably cold and snowy here so a warm, creamy, comfort food type meal was in order! I hate chunky sauces and Steve loves chunky sauces, so I just used the immersion blender on my portion of sauce and we both ended up with a lunch we enjoyed.

DF 5/6 2

For dinner I made Sweet Potato Noodles with Kale Pesto and some mini corn muffins (the recipe was from a Daniel Fast cookbook I found at the library). I’ve been seeing more and more about making noodles out of vegetables but I’ve been slow to try it out. The Daniel fast seemed like the perfect time to make some vegetable noodles! Aside from cooking the sweet potatoes noodles a little too long, I really liked the meal. A huge benefit was that the whole thing came together in about 20 minutes. I love cooking, but it’s always a neat feeling to make something that seems so gourmet in just a few minutes.

DF 5/6 3

Day 6

I had some sweet potato leftover from dinner the night before, so I made sweet potato oatmeal for breakfast. I’ve made sweet potato oatmeal before and added maple syrup. Since that is out on the Daniel fast I had to come up with a new idea. I added some dates for sweetness and some cinnamon and ginger for their flavor. I liked the “spiced” taste, but overall it was a little dull.

DF 5/6 4

For lunch I combined leftovers. I put some of the leftover cauliflower alfredo sauce on the spanakorizo. Taste-wise it wasn’t bad, but it looked totally gross all mixed up on my plate. I didn’t take any pictures because I didn’t want to scare anyone away!

For dinner I made a enchilada pie. There’s this vegetarian enchilada recipe I make every so often that we both like. I make a small dish of enchilada with flour tortillas and another dish with corn tortillas. The flour tortillas always hold up but the corn tortillas break down. Since corn is allowed on the Daniel fast and wheat is not I was planning on making a whole pan of corn enchiladas. When I got to thinking about it, I realized there was no point in rolling up a whole bunch of enchiladas that would only fall apart during cooking. So, I just layered the black bean/corn enchilada filling, tortillas, and homemade enchilada sauce in a casserole dish.  It was filling, familiar, and healthy!

DF 5/6 5

After trying to go off coffee cold turkey and that not going so well, Day 6 was my first day with no coffee after weaning myself off over a few days. I had a headache almost all day but it was bearable. I was able to participate in all my normal activities. I was totally exhausted by the end of the day, but I got through it and that is the important thing!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Daniel Fasting | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

