RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meal (What I Ate Last Week) #3

Posted on

Happy Monday Everyone!

On Monday’s I share what I’ve been eating for the past week. My photos, review, and links to the recipes are all here! Just scroll through the post. This will be a quick one – it’s already 8pm and I have more to do this evening! Remember to follow me on Twitter (@tastefullygf) and Instagram (tastefullygf) for gluten free food photos and ideas all week long!

 

Monday

I started off the week with a hearty breakfast of hash browns, eggs, and bacon. The bacon was actually for my husband, not for me, and it was turkey bacon. I use the Simply Potatoes hash browns, which saves some time in the kitchen each morning.

Eggs-Hashbrowns-Bacon-Gluten-Free-Breakfast
For dinner we had Spaghetti Squash Pizza Casserole from Tessa the Domestic Diva. I don’t think that’s actually what the original recipe is called. I didn’t make a lot of modifications to this recipe. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef simply because that was on sale, and plain old turkey pepperoni, because that’s what I keep around. FYI: turkey pepperoni makes a great GF snack! In the end, this casserole was super, duper delicious. It was a bit of work, yes, but so worth while in the end. I almost always let Steve have first pick of the leftovers (we always make extra food so we can have leftovers for lunch), but I requested all of the leftovers of this casserole! It’s that good! (Sorry the picture sucks – I thought I had an even semi-decent one, but I don’t)

Spaghetti-Squash-Pizza-Casserole

Tuesday

On Tuesday morning I made our favorite “Baked Oatmeal“. I finally posted my version, after talking about it for a few weeks, so you can now find the recipe. I actually changed mine up a little bit and made a coconut version. It was nice and light and airy, perfect for a hot day.

Gluten-Free-Coconut-Baked-Oatmeal
Dinner was more homemade sushi. I mostly make philadelphia rolls with smoked salmon. I got a bag of real sushi rice at the Asian store and what a difference it makes. Probably no surprise since it is called sushi rice, after all.

Wednesday

For breakfast we had sweet potato hash with eggs. It’s a modification of this recipe from The Kitchn. I cooked the sweet potatoes on the stovetop to cut down on heat from the oven while the AC was on. I left out the sausage; the kind I like wasn’t on sale and my freezer stash was depleted.

Eggs-with-Sweet-Potato-Hash

Strangely enough, dinner was more sweet potatoes, and this time with sausage (see I’d planned to use that last pack of chicken sausage for this dinner, so I couldn’t use it for breakfast). This Sweet Potato, Sausage, and Kale Bake from Pinch of Yum is really good! This was my second time making it, and I cut the cheese sauce down to 2/3 of what the recipe calls for since there was too much the first time. I love the flavors in this dinner. They are all perfectly complimented, even all of the different textures!

Sausage-Sweet-Potato-Kale-Bake
Thursday

Breakfast on Thursday was variations of banana based stovetop oatmeal. Steve had his usual crunchy PB and chocolate chips and I had chocolate oatmeal with mint chips. It was good, and I really love this close up picture.

Chocolate-Oatmeal-Mint-Chips-Gluten-Free

For dinner we had leftovers. There were somehow a whole lot of leftovers in the refrigerator, even after eating them for lunch every day (hence the lack of pictures/descriptions of lunch food). I really don’t like when leftover become dinner, but sometimes it just has to happen.

Friday

Okay, so have you heard of those two ingredient pancakes? Banana + egg? I made those. I added some cinnamon and vanilla. The pancakes were pretty soft and squishy, but omg they tasted like french toast! AND, for just over 200 calories I got a pretty big stack of pancakes. I was full until lunch! Definitely a winner breakfast. Just google “two ingredient pancakes” and a million recipes will pop up. Then, pick one and try it!

Banana-French-Toast-Pancakes

Friday’s dinner was Cashew Chicken. I found the recipe on Rasa Malaysia. It had some unusual directions (like marinating the chicken in baking powder) but I fought my instincts to do what I wanted to do and followed the directions. I’m glad I did. This chicken totally tasted fried, and guys, I used probably 1 Tbsp of oil in the whole recipe. Oh, and I tripled the recipe. We are active people who eat a good amount of food, and stir fry is always a favorite. I really enjoyed learning more about stir frying from this recipe. I did add some chili garlic paste to my portion for some heat, but that was the only ingredient modification.

Cashew-Chicken-Gluten-Free

Saturday

I kinda of go into this calming zen state when making pancakes, so I like to make pancakes on Saturday mornings. This past Saturday it was Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes. You might look at the picture and wonder why there are not only little black poppy seeds, but also little green bits. Well, I’ve discovered the shredded zucchini adds a TON of body to GF pancakes without a lot of weird flavor, and is way healthier and cheaper than adding a bunch more GF flour. I’m not sure if my pics were good enough for a full post for this recipe – we’ll see.

Gluten-Free-Lemon-Poppy-Seed-Pancakes

We went to a small BBQ on Saturday, so I got a night off from cooking. Everything on the grill was GF, so I grabbed a burger before the hamburger buns even came out and I was safe. It’s always a nice relief when eating out works out well.

Sunday

Breakfast was more of the sweet potato hash and eggs from Saturday.

We had a big lunch/dinner of hamburgers and corn on the cob, which I totally forgot to take a picture of. I was hungry! The recipe was from a grilling cookbook I got out of the library. The burgers were mildly seasoned and served with caramelized onions. Oh, so good! It’s Monday night as I write this, and the leftovers are already gone!

 

Tune in next Monday for another week of gluten free meals!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

