RSS Feed

PGF: Chipotle & Avocado Chicken Burgers

Posted on

This is not your normal hamburger. These chicken patties are lightly seasoned with zesty spices and stuffed with cool avocado. You will enjoy them with or without a hamburger bun!

Chipotle-Avocado-Chicken-Burgers-on-grill

I think I have a “thing” with hamburgers. I’ve eaten a lot of burgers in my day – hamburgers, cheeseburgers, turkey burgers. Almost every week I announce that dinner tonight is “burgers”. But I never, ever make an ordinary burger. I just can’t do it. There are so many good flavors out there that make an ordinary burger into something amazing!

Last summer I shared my Sweet Thai Chili Burgers, which are pretty unique in terms of flavored hamburgers. These Chipotle & Avocado Chicken Burgers are much milder. If you’re not crazy about over the top flavors or want a gentle introduction into the world of flavored burgers these would be a great choice.

Chipotle-Avocado-Chicken-Burgers-Front

If you glance down at the ingredient list you may notice a few strange things. If you don’t have any chipotle chili powder you may want to consider getting some. It’s similar to regular chili powder, but a bit stronger and has a smoky taste. I get mine in the Hispanic section of the grocery store for less than $2 a jar! Of course, you could sub in any other chili powder you have on hand, resulting in only a slightly different flavor. The last ingredient on the list is shredded zucchini. I know, I know, it sounds crazy weird, but the zucchini will help give the burgers body. To prepare the zucchini you’ll want to shred it – I use a box grater. Take the shredded zucchini and put it in a cheesecloth or thin towel and wring out the liquid. You’ll want to measure the 1/3 cup once you’ve done all the preparations with the zucchini. If you’re adverse to zucchini or don’t want the extra work you can sub in breadcrumbs. I promise though, nothing about this burger taste like zucchini! Avocado is definitely a strange ingredient in burgers, but it actually handles the grilling quite well.

I generally eat these burgers plain, but there’s nothing like a good GF hamburger bun now and again. It’s easy to turn this into a portionally gluten free meal, just serve with regular and gluten free hamburger buns! Avoiding cross contamination is easy – just serve the GF hamburgers first, before you even get out the wheat hamburger buns. Make some corn on the cob, lay out some burger toppings, and you’ll have a simple, gluten free, summer meal!

Chipotle-Avocado-Chicken-Burgers-Tall

Chipotle & Avocado Chicken Burgers

This recipe makes 4 chicken burgers, but is easily modified to make a double batch, or even slider sized burgers.
 
Ingredients
  • 1 lb. ground chicken breast
  • 1 small avocado, cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1 tsp dry mustard powder
  • 1 tsp chipotle chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/3 c shredded zucchini, with liquid squeezed out.
Directions
  1. In a mixining bowl, combine all ingredients except the avocado.
  2. Once the spices are thoroughly mixed into the chicken gently stir in the avocado.
  3. Form the mixture into 4  patties using your hands.
  4. Grill over medium high heat for about 5-7 minutes on each side. Make sure the burgers reach a temperature of 165° F.
  5. Serve plain, or with hamburger buns.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

12 responses »

  1. I love anything involving chipotle, one of my favorite ingredients. Definitely can’t wait to try this 🙂

    Happy Blogging!
    Happy Valley Chow

    Reply
  2. These look amazing, Kristin! I love how you stuffed them with avocado. And flavours are so simple and yet healthy!!! Great job! Pinning!

    Reply
  3. I’ll have to sub ground turkey (because that’s what I have), but I’ll be making these tomorrow. Looks great!

    Reply
    • I hope you enjoy the burgers! I’m always subbing chicken for turkey and vice versa, based on what is on sale. Thanks for stopping by my blog and trying out my recipe 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: 4th of July Grilling Recipe Round Up | Tastefully Gluten Free

  5. Pingback: New Feature: “Serve this with” | Tastefully Gluten Free

  6. This looks amazingly deelish. I will definitely try this recipe. I love cooking and trying new and exciting recipes. Flavor flavor flavor…hmm hmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

