RSS Feed

Banana Chocolate Chip Smoothie

Posted on

I’ve wholeheartedly given into the smoothie trend. I have a general policy to not “drink my calories”, but smoothies have become an exception. They taste good and fill me up. A smoothie can be a meal on the go or quick snack. With a blender and a few ingredients it’s easy to whip up a healthy smoothie!

Banana-Chocolate-Chip-Smoothie-Tall

This is my current favorite smoothie. I make it if I happen to be craving something sweet or just need something nutritious in the middle of a busy day.  A few months from now I’ll probably have a new favorite smoothie, but for now this one is my smoothie obsession.

Banana and chocolate is loved combination, and this smoothie is a healthy way to fill that sweet craving. Just 15 chocolate chips will add a touch of chocolate flavor, and only about 35 calories to the drink. Much more wholesome than grabbing a candy bar!

Banana-Chocolate-Chip-Smoothie-Top

I’ve found that this smoothie, and any with banana, taste best when the bananas are ripe and frozen. Overly ripe bananas (you know those ones with all the brown spots that you can get on clearance at the grocery store) are sweeter than a perfect yellow banana. Since the banana provides most of the sweetness for the smoothie, the riper the banana the sweeter the smoothie you will have.

Using a frozen banana is just a personal preference for me. Of course, you can use a banana at room temperature + ice to make a smoothie, but I like the result from using a frozen banana better. The smoothie is, well, smoother! It’s still thick, but there are no little ice chunks that water down the flavor.

Banana-Chocolate-Chip-Smoothie-Close

I always keep ripe, frozen bananas on hand, ready for smoothies. Whenever I buy bananas I purchase a few extra. When they get brown spots I peel, slice in half, and store in a ziploc bag in the freezer. It’s much easier to choose a healthy smoothie over a cookie or candy when the ingredients are on hand and ready to use!

Banana-Chocolate-Chip-Smoothie-Square

 Banana Chocolate Chip Smoothie

 
Ingredients (makes 1 smoothie)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 c milk of choice (I use unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (alternatively, you can skip the vanilla extract and use vanilla flavored almond/soy milk)
  • 2 Tbs plain greek yogurt
  • 15 chocolate chips
Directions
  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend until smooth.
About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meal (What I Ate Last Week) #12 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  2. Pingback: Happy Labor Day! | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

