RSS Feed

Gluten Free Meals Weekly (What I Ate Last Week) #7

Posted on
Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!
 

Monday
First- full disclosure: it is nearly 9pm and I am just starting this post. So, descriptions will be a bit shorter than usual. It’s been a day, and I got behind – happens to everyone sometimes, I suppose!

Breakfast on Monday was some leftover sweet potatoes baked with eggs. No picture, probably because I was so hungry I ate all my food before I remembered to take a photo. Is anyone else that ravenous in the mornings? Sometimes hunger wakes me up before the alarm!

For lunch I sauteed some kale and ate it with ricotta cheese and lemon juice. It sounds strange, but is delicious! I found the idea on a blog a while ago, but no longer have the link 😦 It’s simple to make though. Just chopped kale sauteed in a bit of olive oil. Drizzle with lemon juice and top with 1/4 c of ricotta. Healthy, quick lunch!

Lemon-Kale-Ricotta-WIALW7

For dinner I made a Kielbasa Potato Skillet Dinner from Taste of Home. I’ve had this recipe forever and it’s always delicious. I always use all natural sausage and turkey bacon, to make it a bit healthier. This comes together quickly and only dirties one pan. A winner for busy nights!

Kielbasa-Skillet-Dinner-WIALW7

Tuesday
For breakfast I made Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes. Yes, they are gluten free! And the recipe is already up on the blog! Check out the ingredient list – you’ll be surprised how healthy they are!

Gluten-Free-Lemon-Poppy-Seed-Pancake-Close

Lunch was more of the Kale and Ricotta. I got the ricotta on clearance, so had to use it up before the expiration date!

For dinner I made these Spicy Tomato Kebabs from Food, Faith, Fitness. The kebabs were not spicy (in my opinion, but I have a high spice tolerance) but they were amazingly flavorful, especially for just marinating for about 6 hours. The sauce was also stellar. The combination was perfect. To go with the kebabs I made zucchini noodles and corn on the cob. We were slathering the sauce from the kebabs onto the zucchini. It was good, good enough that there were no leftovers!

Tomato-Kebabs-Zucchini_noodles-WIALW7

Wednesday

Remember a few weeks ago when I posted some no bake cookies? Well, the cookies were all gone and I was wishing I still had some to eat, so I tried to make oatmeal to mimic the taste of the cookies. It was pretty darn close in flavor! Steve even strayed from his usual oatmeal toppings to try the new version. I was a bit “out-sweeted” for breakfast, but it was good. The toppings were crushed pretzels and chocolate, with honey and peanut butter cooked into the oatmeal

No-Bake-Cookie-Oatmeal-Gluten-Free-WIALW7

For lunch I made some sweet potato mac & cheese. It’s mostly guilt free, so I proceeded to take some quick photos and then devour it. Recipe will be up on Wednesday of this week, but here’s a teaser pic:

IMG_1211 copy

Dinner was sushi. Steve and I both made a few rolls, and we tried to get a little artsy. We had fun taking pictures of the sushi as we were eating it, too.

Gluten-Free-Homemade-Philadelphia-Rolls-WIALW7

Thursday
Breakfast was banana pancakes. I didn’t take a picture, but you can see one here. These pancakes take only 4 ingredients, none of which is flour!

We had some leftover sushi, so that was lunch. In general I hate repeating meals so close together, but sushi doesn’t last long.

Since I had bought a ginormous bag of sweet potatoes at a Farmer’s Market last week, I decided to turn on the oven (in some serious heat!) to use them up. These sweet potato skins from Pinch of Yum were the perfect way to do that! I make lots of changes to this recipe (since I don’t cook with cream cheese or sour cream), but keep the gist. Mashed, creamy sweet potato, chickpeas, and a bit of melted cheese on top.

Friday
I made Baked Cookie Oatmeal for breakfast. It’s a favorite, so it has to make at least one appearance a week!

Lunch was a compilation of leftovers, some kale, some sweet potatoes, something else that was in the refrigerator.

Dinner was spaghetti squash! I love spaghetti squash! Actually, dinner was more than spaghetti squash. It was this Thai Chicken with Spaghetti Squash from iFoodreal. I must say, I don’t usually like cabbage, but this recipe made me like it. Goes to show that healthy food CAN taste good if you prepare it in the right ways.
Thai-Chicken-Spaghetti-Squash-WIALW7

Saturday
I made Toad in a Hole for Breakfast. Steve had some wheat-filled bread sitting on top of the refrigerator (great place to store wheat-filled foods, because I can’t even see or reach what is up there) that I wanted to use before it went bad. These might seem like a tedious breakfast, but once you get the hang of it it’s quick and fun.

Toad-in-a-hole-gluten-free-WIALW7

For lunch I made a quick banana peanut butter smoothie. It was good. I may have a new favorite smoothie.

Dinner was burgers. A few Thai Turkey Burgers, and some Buffalo Ranch Burgers. I was hoping to take photos of the Buffalo Ranch Burgers for the blog, because they are so, so good, but it was dark and rainy. Not good grilling photo weather!

Buffalo-Ranch-Burgers-WIALW7

Sunday
Breakfast was some baked oatmeal to go! We had a half hour drive to church, so we just ate our oatmeal in the car to save time. And don’t forget the coffee. I’m not a daily coffee drinker, but it’s a must for an early morning, still.

Oatmeal-to-go-WIALW7

For lunch on Sunday we just got out all of the leftovers from the refrigerator and ate a bit of each of them. Steve used to do this when we first got married and it drove me nuts. I wished he would just get out one thing and not pull literally every possibly meal item out of the fridge, but now I don’t mind so much. Variety is good!

For dinner, I made a Cajun Zucchini Pasta recipe from Inspiralized. I modified most the amounts of everything to make the right serving size and flavor level for us. In the end it was good – another meal we totally finished! I had a major win with figuring out how to get zucchini noodles to not water down the sauce. It’s too much to explain here, but I’ll share more on that some other time.

Cajun-Zucchini-Noodles-Kale-Sausage-WIALW7

See you next week for another round of gluten free meals!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

One response »

  1. I’m so glad you gave my recipe a try although you are not a cabbage lover. Koodos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

