RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #8

Posted on
Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!
 

Monday
Breakfast on Monday was 2 Ingredient Pancakes. I didn’t snap a picture (Monday morning fogginess, I guess), but I’ve made these in past weeks. In case you’ve missed seeing them on past posts, these pancakes are super simple! Just mixed 2 eggs with a mashed banana. The thin batter cooks up to make some of the healthiest pancakes you’ll ever have!

For dinner I made Thai Chili Tofu with Kale and Quinoa. We don’t usually eat vegetarian or vegan, but this meal has won us over! I’ve made this several times, and although it started off as a recipe from this blog, it’s become my own creation over time. I finally wrote down what I do this time, so I can post the recipe on the blog! It’s tasty, and may win you over to tofu, too!

Tofu-Kale-Quinoa-WIALW8

Tuesday
Breakfast was sweet potato, sausage, and eggs. You may have noticed this makes its way into a lot of our breakfasts, and that is because it is just so good. Not only does it taste good, but it is healthy, and fills me up until lunch. That’s a winning breakfast, and definitely worth repeating!

Sweet-Potato-Sausage-Egg-Bake-WIALW8

Lunch was some leftovers from the previous week – I think some spaghetti squash!

Dinner was Broccoli Beef and Noodles. The Broccoli Beef recipe is from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe. If you try it, and need to adhere to a gluten free diet, just be sure to check all your ingredient labels first. I served this with rice noodles and broccoli noodles. Yup, you read that right, broccoli noodles! I spiralized the broccoli stems and boiled them with the rice noodles. The broccoli noodles blended right in with the meal, and was a great way to use the stems that would ordinarily get thrown away. This recipe is delicious (Mel calls it’s “the best”) and takes under half an hour to prepare!

Broccoli-Beef-Rice-Noodles-GF-WIALW8

Wednesday
I made Banana Sweetened Oatmeal for breakfast. I was in the mood for something sweet, so I added cocoa powder and about a tablespoon of maple syrup to my oatmeal, then topped it with almond butter. It totally filled my sweet craving! Steve had his usual “Snickers” oatmeal, which is regular oatmeal topped with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

Chocolate-Oatmeal-Almond-Butter-WIALW8

For lunch I chowed down on the extra tofu, kale, and quinoa from the Monday  night’s dinner.

For dinner I made a recipe from this very blog, Grilled Pesto Ranch Chicken. I actually didn’t do too much of the making. I started the chicken marinading in the morning, but then had a headache later. Steve did a great job grilling the chicken and making the corn. What a treat it was to get to relax and not push through cooking with a killer headache!

Grilled-Pesto-Ranch-Chicken-WIALW8

Thursday
Breakfast was Baked Cookie Oatmeal. I had the small version. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but whenever I make this oatmeal I usually mix the wet ingredients the night before. In the morning I just add the oats, flour, and baking powder. It’s actually really great for a busy morning. The oatmeal can bake while you get ready, and if you bake it in a ramekin it’s easily portable.

I had some leftover, cooked, cauliflower in the refrigerator so I (sort of) made this Cauliflower Pizza Casserole for lunch. Since my cauliflower was already cooked I just pureed it, topped it with cheese and pepperoni, and popped it in the toaster oven for about 15 minutes. I ate the whole serving I made, but it was good!

For dinner we went out for Pho Soup at the local Asian restuarant. I’ll be honest – mostly we went for the leftover containers they put your extra soup in. I love chicken pho soup, but I love the leftover containers, too! We snagged some of the leftover Thai basil that was served with the soup, too. Not for eating, but for growing. It’s stilling in a glass full of water in a windowsill, already growing some roots!

GF-Pho-Soup-WIALW8

Friday
Breakfast was more of the sweet potato, sausage, and egg bake from Tuesday. Since this requires some prep work I always make a double or triple batch, so I get multiple meals from that time I spend prepping.

Lunch was a whole variety of leftovers. I bit of leftover grilled chicken, some kale, some cauliflower. Just trying to clear out the leftover shelf in the fridge!

For dinner I made a Grilled Salmon and Avocado Lime Quinoa Salad. Oh, this was so, so good, and perfect for summer! This one is in my recipe line up for the blog.

Grilled-Salmon-Avocado-Lime-Quinoa-Salad

Saturday
For my pancake fix for the week I tried these Qunioa Flour Pancakes. I didn’t really like toasting the flour before making the pancakes, but everything else about the pancakes was easy. Most excitingly, they were puffy! I was so excited! These also tasted like a normal pancakes – so normal, we ate them with syrup.

I made a super yummy smoothie for lunch/snack. Oh, it was sooo good. I need to make it again and write down the recipe. Banana + Chocolate + PB. Yum! A little indulgent, but way better than a cookie or candy bar.

Dinner was Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash. As I posted on my Instagram “what could be better?” My sister’s response was “literally nothing”. It is a perfect combination. I very loosely use this recipe. This has quickly become a favorite meal around here. I think we’d eat it every week if I weren’t so crazy about not having repeat meals.

Buffalo-Chicken-Spaghetti-Squash-WIALW8

Sunday
Breakfast was Baked Cookie Oatmeal, again. We’re off early to church some Sundays, and this is the perfect breakfast for those days. Easy to make ahead, eat in the car, etc.

I ate leftover spaghetti squash for lunch, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Steve had the leftover Salmon, Avocado, and Quinoa Salad, and was pretty happy with that.

For dinner I made Pizza Burgers. I’m always doing unusual things with burgers, so why not make them taste like pizza? I seasoned the burgers with Italian flavors, topped them with mozzarella, sauce, and pepperoni. A great way to get the pizza flavor and not all of the carbs. Plus, the amount of cheese of one burgers is like, maybe a tablespoon, so guilt free, mostly!

Pizza-Burgers-Gluten-Free-WIALW8

See you back next week for another round of recipes!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

3 responses »

  1. How you make the eggs like that? I always want to make that kind of eggs but fail….

    Reply
    • I’m still trying to perfect the perfect over-easy egg, too! It can be a challenge!!! These were baked at 425° F for about 15 minutes, on top of some sweet potatoes. I actually have that recipe in my line up of posts, so I’ll have better directions up on the blog soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

