RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #9

Posted on
 Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

Monday
For breakfast I made Cinnamon Vanilla Oatmeal, and topped it with almond butter and unsweetened coconut. This is one of my favorite oatmeal combinations!

Cinnamon-Vanilla-Oatmeal-with-Alomnd-Butter-Coconut-WIALW9

For dinner I made these Green Curry Sweet Potato Noodle Bowls. Everything in the ingredient list sounded so great, but the end result wasn’t as good as I hoped. It wasn’t a bad dinner, but just not as flavorful as we like. I think the problem is my green curry paste. I’ve been disappointed with a few recipes I’ve used it in. I’ll have to try this again sometime with a stronger green curry paste!

Sweet-Potato-Edamame-Green-Curry-WIALW9

Tuesday
I found an amazing new breakfast! It’s a variation on these Avocado & Egg Breakfast Pizzas. I didn’t quite do the pizza, but used corn tortillas instead. The preparation and cooking took under 15 minutes. The avocado + egg was delicious, and the corn tortilla provided some carbs to keep me full all morning. I may have a new favorite breakfast!

Egg-Avocado-"Pizzas"-WIALW9
For dinner on Tuesday I grilled some Green Chili Cheeseburgers. This is a yummy recipe I found in a grilling cookbook last year. I served the burgers with corn on the cob and these Buffalo Cauliflower Tater Tots. The Cauliflower Tater Tots are amazing! Granted, I’ve changed the recipe a bit (replace breadcrumbs with shredded zucchini, flax egg instead of real egg, less cheese), but that’s just personal preference. We had some friends over for dinner, and this is one of my favorite recipes to make for people! It’s a fun way to show that vegetables can be some of the best tasting foods out there! I also love grilling burgers when guests come over. It’s so easy to fit to different dietary needs – no cheese for anyone avoiding dairy, no buns for GF folks, etc! Since we had friends over for dinner I was distracted socializing and forgot to take a picture of the meal.

Wednesday
Breakfast was this Baked Cookie Oatmeal. Another favorite breakfast recipe – you’ve gotta try it if you haven’t!
Baked-Oatmeal-WIALW9
For dinner I made Salmon with Balsamic Sauce, Quinoa Pilaf, and broccoli. The salmon was a bit sweet for my tastes, but definitely good, and very easy to make. The quinoa pilaf was a great accompaniment to the fish. It was flavored more than plain quinoa, but not so flavorful that it overpowered the fish. Of course, steamed broccoli is one of my simplest, most favorite ways to get in a vegetable!

Balsamic-Salmon-Quinoa-Broccoli-WIALW9

I only took one photo of this, sorry it’s blurry 😦

Thursday
For breakfast I made “2 Ingredient” French Toast Pancakes.  I wrote a whole post on this with the recipe last week, so check it out. These pancakes are so healthy, paleo, and of course gluten free!

2-Ingredient-Pancakes-Tall

Dinner was Sausage, Kale, and Sweet Potato Bake with White Cheese Sauce. This is one of our favorite dinners. I love that you can make it ahead of time, then just bake it for 10 minutes before serving. It’s great for a crazy day. I keep trying to increase the amount I make so that we have leftovers! I definitely claimed the one serving of leftovers this time!

Sweet-Potato-Kale-Sausage-White-Sauce-WIALW9

Friday
I made on of our usual breakfast, Sweet Potato Hash with Eggs. I keep intending to measure everything and take photos for the blog, but this never seems to happen! It’s on my list again for this week, so we shall see what happens.
Sweet-Potato-Eggs-Breakfast-WIALW9

My allergies were really acting up last week, especially on Friday, and all I wanted was soup. Crazy, for a 90° F day. I made Avgolemono Soup and Steve made some Tuna Melts for us. He’s really good at making tuna melts. I try, but they are never quite as perfect.

Tuna-Melts-Avgolemono-WIALW9

Saturday
I made Almond Joy Oatmeal for my breakfast. I would have taken a picture, but it just looked awful. I smeared chocolate and banana all over the bowl, and was too hungry to take the time to clean it up. When Steve woke up he wanted Grain Free Banana Pancakes, so I made a quick single serving for him.

For dinner I made Spicy Turkey Bolognese. It’s a variation of a spicier meat sauce my sister and I used to make all of the time. I made zucchini noodles and GF spaghetti to go with the sauce. I love zoodles, but no carbs = a very hungry Kristin.

Spicy-Sauce-Pasta-Zoodles-WIALW9

Sunday
Steve had the leftover Sweet Potato Hash and Eggs for breakfast (it was already cooked, and in a leftover container in the fridge) so I made something for myself that I knew he would hate: Coconut Baked Oatmeal. It was so good! I’ve made this a few times before, and forgot how good it was. Steve hates coconut, so I got the whole bowl to myself 🙂

Coconut-Baked-Oatmeal-WIALW9

Lunch and Dinner on Sunday was a smorgasbord of leftovers in the refrigerator. We had plans from about 4:30 – 9pm, right over dinner, so the whole eating schedule was off. At the very end of the day, around 10pm, we (for some crazy reason) decided to make these quinoa patties using the leftover quinoa pilaf. I made the quinoa patties while Steve made the whipped feta spread, and added in some mozzarella cheese, too. A bit different from the original recipe, but still delicious!

Quinoa-Pizzas-WIALW9

why even try for good lighting at 10:45 pm?

That’s all for this week’s post! I’ll be back later this week with some summer recipes!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

