RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #10

Posted on
 Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

 

Monday
Typical Monday breakfast here; Baked Cookie Oatmeal. I prepare the oatmeal ahead of time so when the alarm goes off on Monday morning all I have to do is get out of bed, and stick the oatmeal in the oven. 18 minutes later the oatmeal comes out of the oven. It’s sweet, but not totally indulgent, and keeps me full until lunch!

Baked-Cookie-Oatmeal-Above
My allergies were really acting up this week, so I was craving soup. Hot soup makes my nose run, which helps me feel less stuffy! Since we’d had Avgolemono soup last week I made Lemon Lentil Soup this week. To go with the soup I made Artichoke, Kale, and Ricotta Pie. I’ve made this a few times before, so we definitely enjoy it. I tried to fit in more kale this time, but the pie didn’t hold together as well as other times. So, moral of the story is to stick to the proportions listed in the recipe!

Artichoke-Kale-Ricotta-Pie-Lemon-Lentil-Soup-WIALW10

Tuesday
This is my new favorite breakfast. Crispy corn tortillas, mashed avocado with lime juice, and an over-medium egg. It is just too good. I could eat it everyday.

Egg-Avocado-Tortillas-WIALW10

For lunch I ate my leftovers from Monday’s dinner. A slice of the leftover pie with a bowl of soup.

For dinner we went to a friend’s house – a gluten free friend! What a treat – to not have to cook dinner but still know for certain that my dinner will be safe to eat! We had sushi for dinner and then some gluten free cake for dessert. All in all, a great meal!

Sushi-Gluten-Free-WIALW10

Wednesday
I’ve been working on a new breakfast recipe, so I tested the latest version for breakfast. It’s a Coconut flavored baked oatmeal. The recipe isn’t perfect yet, but I’m still working on it.

Coconut-Baked-Oatmeal-Gluten-Free-WIALW10

For lunch I had the same leftovers as the day before, a slice of leftover Kale, Ricotta, and Artichoke Pie with a bowl of Lemon Lentil Soup.

Dinner was Grilled Fajitas. Delicious and simple, and perfect for summer! I marinaded the chicken for a just a few hours this time, and it was still amazing!

Grilled-Fajitas-WIALW10

Thursday
Breakfast was another regular for us – Sweet Potato Hash with Eggs. This time I measured my ingredients and took photos, so  I can post the recipe on the blog later this week!

Sweet-Potato-Eggs-WIALW10

We’d eaten breakfast pretty late, so I kinda of just snacked for lunch. Not the greatest idea, but I hate getting off my eating schedule. By time I was hungry it was nearly dinner time, so I figured I may as well just wait.

For dinner, I made a great crock pot recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen, Spicy Black Bean and Rice Bowls. Since I only have a 2 quart crock pot I had cut the recipe down in size a bit. It’s too bad, because we ate the whole thing. Neither of us had really eaten lunch, so that’s some of the reason, but it was also just that good! This will definitely be making more appearances in my meal plans.

Slow-Cooker-Spicy-Rice-Beans-WIALW10

Friday
Friday was the Fourth of July! Holidays means an opportunity to sleep in, for us. Once we finally woke up I made 2 Ingredient Pancakes. I added a tablespoon of peanut butter for a bit more substance and flavor.

2-Ingredient-Pancakes-WIALW10

The rest of the day we ate random things – leftovers in the refrigerator, mostly. It sounds a bit depressing for the 4th of July, but it wasn’t at all – we were all about just hanging out and relaxing, prepping for a trip to the beach, and seeing the fireworks! BBQs tend to be much less fun and exciting when you can’t eat the food.

Saturday
We took a day trip to the beach on Saturday! Before leaving I made the leftover Sweet Potato Hash and Eggs, and packed some sandwiches for lunch. This recipe is easily gluten free – just sub in some gluten free bread!

For dinner at the beach we went to a Hibachi restaurant (I forget the name). It was excellent! My food was all prepped in the back with gluten free sauces. They subbed noodles for edamame at no extra charge! The timing was even perfect, just as the chef was doling out the food onto the plates, the waitress brought out my plates. I loved eating the edamame, and ate my chicken and veggies with extra sriracha sauce.

Hibachi-WIALW10

Sunday
I made some oatmeal for breakfast. I was hungry, so I topped my chocolate banana sweetened oatmeal with almond butter for extra protein.

Chocolate-Almond-Butter-Oatmeal-WIALW10

I had a fun time with yesterday’s dinner. I made Crispy Parmesan Chicken, which will makes it’s way onto the blog eventually! I also did a bit of an experiment with this recipe from How Sweet It Is. Since pre-made gnocchi is off the table for me (I’ve never seen any in stores around here, anyway) I subbed in sweet potato noodles, made in my new spiralizer! I think the combo worked out wonderfully!

Crispy-Parmesan-Chicken-Sweet-Potato-Noodles-WIALW10

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

