RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #11

Posted on

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

 

Monday
I’m starting off the week on a bad note. I have no written or photographic record of what I ate for breakfast on Monday. Opps! I do know that my lunch was leftovers from the day before – some sweet potato noodles with grilled corn and onions.

Dinner was an old recipe and a new recipe. The Ginger and Cilantro Baked Tilapia is a tried and true recipe. Healthy, tasty, and easy to make. I’ve come back to it again and again when I’ve been in the mood for fish. I paired it with a new recipe. This Quinoa Salad with Edamame, Cucumber and Avocado. It was good – good enough that it’s on my meal plan for this week, too! I used red quinoa, instead of black, and will probably try it with regular quinoa, too.

Tilapia-and-Quinoa-Salad-WIALW11

Tuesday
Breakfast was my Sweet Potato & Egg Skillet. Recipe now up on the blog! A few people had asked me about the recipe, so don’t forget to check it out.

Sweet-Potato-Egg-Breakfast-Skillet-Square

Lunch was some leftovers from Monday’s dinner. I enjoyed the quinoa salad just as much as the night before!

For dinner I made my Mexican Stroganoff with Brazilian Cheese Bread. Usually I would serve this with rice, but I was out! Yup, a celiac who ran out of rice. I ate mine with the Shiratake Miracle Noodles, but it honestly wasn’t a great pairing. The rice is better. I made pasta for Steve, and the friend he had over for dinner.

Mexican-Stroganoff-WIALW11

Wednesday
For breakfast I made Banana Sweetened Oatmeal.  Mine was simple – I just topped it with some natural, crunchy peanut butter. It “hit the spot” (as my grandmother always said). Tasty and filling! Plus, healthy!

Banana-Oatmeal-with-Peanut-Butter-WIALW11

Lunch was more leftover, big surprise there.

For dinner I made some Chicken Kebabs, marinated in a tomato sauce, and served it with the leftover quinoa salad. By then the avocado was softened quite a bit, so it needed to be eaten. The food was all good, but I ate really quickly before running out the door, so I didn’t exactly have time to savor it.

Tomato-Kebabs-Quinoa-Salad-WIALW11

Thursday
My new favorite breakfast, an crispy corn tortilla, with mashed avocado and an egg. It’s super easy to make, and hardly requires a recipe. You should try it 🙂

Egg-Avocado-Tortilla-WIALW11

I had a mocha smoothie for lunch. It tasted pretty much amazing, but was a bit too liquidy. I only used 1 banana, so maybe I should have used the 2 recommended in the recipe.

I’d kinda spent the day on Thursday agonizing about what to make for dinner. Isn’t that why I meal plan? Yes, but I’d totally messed up my meal orders for the week and didn’t have meat defrosted. Eventually my creativity got to work and I came up with a plan. I used some leftover tomato sauce that was in the refrigerator to make a pasta sauce. Steve had regular pasta and I made zucchini noodles for me. Additionally, we had these Everything Bagel Quinoa Patties. We had some leftover cream cheese/feta/mozzarella spread Steve made that was a great topping. It turned out to be a totally delicious meal! Creativity for the win!

Zucchini-Noodles-Tomato-Sauce-WIALW11

Friday
Breakfast was Baked Cookie Oatmeal. I baked it in the toaster oven to save energy. It actually crisped the top more than with oven baking. Still delicious, and a bit of a more authentic cookie texture!

Crispy-Baked-Oatmeal-WIALW11

Dinner was Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Sqaush. I intended to take pictures for the blog, but by the time we ate dinner it was nearly 8:30pm and the light just wasn’t good enough for photos. The sad part, I won’t get to post the recipe as soon. The good part, I get to eat it again soon!

Buffalo-Chicken-Spaghetti-Squash-WIALW11

Saturday
I made these Paleo Pancakes for breakfast. My picture of them is quite-un Paleo, because we spread a little nutella on top! I think these pancakes are delicious plain, though, really. And you can’t go wrong with a three ingredient pancake recipe, either!

Paleo-Pancakes-WIALW11

Lunch was leftover Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash.

We went to a BBQ for dinner, with tons of gluten free food! I had a bacon guacamole burger, with some spinach salad and a few other sides. The girl hosting the party is a nutritionist AND gluten free, herself, so she knew exactly how to prepare a celiac-safe meal. It was fun and delicious!

Sunday
I made Grain Free Banana Pancakes, at Steve’s request. I hadn’t eaten these myself in a while (since I’ve been trying to eat less sugar and less calories), but they were such a pleasant treat. I’d almost forgotten how good they are!

Grain-Free-Banana-Pancakes-WIALW11

For lunch I made these Italian Chicken Sandwiches. I made some last weekend to bring on a day trip, and had some leftover sauce. I follow the recipe exactly, and just use Udi’s Gluten Free Bread.

Italian-Sandwiches-WIALW11
For dinner I made these Buffalo Turkey Flatbreads. I made a number of modifications, including cutting the cream cheese, using homemade ranch dressing, adding carrots, and swapping corn tortillas for the flour tortillas. There was a bit of a learning curve for me, grilling the tortillas, but the flavor didn’t suffer much. We just knocked off any overly burnt pieces of tortilla and kept eating. Delicious!

Buffalo-Turkey-Flatbreads-WiALW11

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

