RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meal (What I Ate Last Week) #12

Posted on

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

You may have noticed I missed posting about my week’s meals last Monday. I was on vacation at the beach! Beach vacations are fun, but beach food is not very interesting. A granola bar here, a handful of nuts there, etc. My food wasn’t very conducive to a blog post about meals! So, this week’s post picks up with my first meal back from the beach, which was Tuesday’s dinner. Read on below!

Tuesday
For dinner I made these Spinach & Cheese Enchiladas I spotted on Mel’s Kitchen Cafe recently. I knew I had to try this particular recipe. I love spinach, I love really flavorful, Mexican-esque food, and everything I’ve made from Mel’s blog has turned out great! No surprise, these enchiladas were pretty good. I subbed in Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose GF Flour in the sauce, and the texture was a bit funky, but that didn’t effect the flavor, as far as I can figure.

Wednesday
For breakfast I made Egg & Mashed Avocado on Corn Tortillas. I can’t get enough of this breakfast! It tastes perfect to me! The runny egg yolk + avocado combo just can’t be beaten. Unfortunately, I’ve been having a really rough time tolerating eggs, so I may have to put this breakfast aside for a while.

Tortilla-Egg-Avocado-WIALW12

Lunch was leftover enchiladas from Tuesday’s dinner + a smoothie. Get my Banana Chocolate Chip Smoothie Recipe here.

Dinner was Cashew Chicken and Rice & Carrot Noodles. This is the second time I’ve made the Cashew Chicken recipe. I actually tripled the recipe this time, and added some chili garlic paste for some heat. I like serving stir fries with the rice/carrot noodle combo. It’s a simple way to trade some simple carbs for some vegetables. We really enjoyed this meal! The Cashew Chicken requires a bit more effort than usual stir fries, but the extra work is absolutely worth it!

Cashew-Chicken-WAILW12

Thursday
I made banana sweetened oatmeal for breakfast. I went for something simple, chocolate oatmeal with a spoonful of almond butter on top. Simple, yes, but also very delicious! Steve had his usual, plain oatmeal topped with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

Chocolate-Oatmeal-Almond-Butter-WIALW12

For lunch I finished off the leftover enchiladas. Yum!

Dinner was burgers, cauliflower tater tots, and corn. These burgers were Buffalo Ranch Burgers, which I promise I’ll eventually post the recipe for. My cauliflower tater tots are are based off of this recipe, which is wonderful. Making homemade, healthy, tater tots is surprisingly easy!

Buffalo-Ranch-Burgers-WIALW12

Friday
For breakfast I made Sweet Potato & Egg Breakfast Skillet, but added a bit of sausage. Although I love the original version, the added sausage is a fun treat. I use a spicy, andouille sausage to compliment the sweetness of the potatoes.

Sweet-Potato-Breakfast-Skillet-WIALW12

For lunch I made this Purple Smoothie. It had so many good fruits & veggies in it I figured it would be adequate for a lunch. It was yummy, but didn’t keep me full. I ended up doing some snacking (on chocolate) before dinner.

I finally made and successfully photographed my Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash recipe. I told Steve that after having it so many times while I was the working on the recipe I’d be sick of it and not make again it for months. Well, a few bites later that thought was gone! I have a feeling this is a recipe we will be eating for years! It’s wonderful. I’m not sure exactly when the recipe will make it onto the blog, but keep an eye out for it. This one is a big winner!

Buffalo-Chicken-Spaghetti-Squash-WIALW12

Saturday
Sweet Potato Pancakes. That’s all I have to say. I’ve spent a long time trying to find a recipe for sweet potato pancakes that actually results in a pancake, and I’ve finally found one. I used this recipe with a few modifications. Both Steve and I both enjoyed these with maple syrup. I tried to the pancakes with almond butter, too, and it was also good!

Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-WIALW12

For lunch we ate leftover Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash while on the road to Raleigh, NC.

After exploring Raleigh for the day we were hungry, and decided to hit up our favorite restaurant there, Guasaca. We love this place. It’s affordable, filling food. Everything is made from scratch in the restaurant and – get this – everything on the menu is gluten free. Did I mention that the food is absolutely delicious?!

Guasaca-WIALW12

Sunday
Breakfast was Coconut Baked Oatmeal (recipe coming soon). I’ve decided this is the perfect summer baked oatmeal. It’s warm and comforting like any other baked oatmeal, but it’s also light and gently sweet. I found that I’ve been craving this more than the Baked Cookie Oatmeal I’ve been obsessing over for months!

Coconut-Baked-Oatmeal-WIALW12

At lunch time there was really nothing around, so I threw together some sweet potato noodles with spinach and bacon. It was quite good, and was devoured before I took a picture.

Sunday is often Pizza Night, and for my choice I made a Margherita Pizza. I used my gluten free pizza crust, but grilled it. I added simple toppings, tomato sauce, mozzarella, and fresh basil. The Italians definitely knew what they were doing when they first combined those flavors, it is always delicious!

Gluten-Free-Margherita-Pizza-WIALW12

See you back here on Wednesday for a new recipe!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

