RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #13

Posted on

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

Monday
Oh, Monday mornings. One of the few things that makes waking up to the alarm clock on Mondays is this Baked Cookie Oatmeal.  Today’s photo of this breakfast is of the “oatmeal volcano” Steve always makes. Apparently, if you’re not fond of eating your oatmeal piping hot this helps it cool down quickly.

Baked-Cookie-Oatmeal-Gluten-Free-WIALW13

For dinner I made a new taco recipe. Embracing Meatless Monday, the taco “meat” is black beans. I mashed them a bit with some seasoning, and added some grilled corn, red cabbage, avocado and a bit of cheese. These vegetarian tacos were as good as any other taco!

Black-Bean-Vegetable-Tacos-WIALW13

Tuesday
For breakfast I made Banana Sweetened Oatmeal. I tried making a Mint Chocolate Chip variety, using mint extract and chocolate chips. Eh, it wasn’t the best oatmeal but wasn’t the worst. I think I would have been more convinced to enjoy this oatmeal if it had been mint green colored!

Mint-Chocolate-Chip-Oatmeal-WIALW13

I intended to grill some chicken kebabs for dinner, but it turns out the grill was out of propane. No problem, I just cooked the chicken in a frying pan. We topped it with some leftover peanut sauce from a few weeks ago. I also sauteed some kale and cabbage.

Chicken-Peanut-Sauce-Kale-Cabbage-WIALW13

Wednesday
So, I tried making gluten free granola. It looked fine, but didn’t taste that good. I used the granola recipe from the VB6 Cookbook. It sounded amazing, and I mean really amazing, but just didn’t taste at all like what I expected. To be honest, I’ve never eaten granola I’ve liked, so maybe the problem lies with me! The cereal in the picture was Steve’s breakfast; he wasn’t a huge fan of the granola, either.

Gluten-Free-Granola-WIALW13
I had fun making an experimental dinner. I saw this recipe when my sis pinned in and wanted to make it right then. Reading the recipe, I felt that the chicken needed to be jazzed up a bit, so I used this recipe (just the chicken). The combination of the two recipes was excellent. We ate the chicken & zucchini noodles with corn on the cob.

Zucchini-Noodles-Chipotle-Chicken-Avocado-Cream-Sauce-WIALW13

Thursday
I woke up pretty late on Thursday and only ate a small breakfast, just a packet of grits.

By dinner I was starving, and luckily dinner was sushi. Homemade sushi! It was especially exciting because we used cucumber from our garden.

Friday
More baked oatmeal for breakfast, see the picture from Monday!

I made this Spiralized Beef Stroganoff for dinner. I’m a stroganoff fan, and this filled that void in a healthier way. I love how this recipe is cooked entirely in one pan, too!

Paleo-Beef-Stroganoff-Green-Beans-WIALW13

Saturday
Remember my new found sweet potato pancake recipe from last week? I very excitedly made it again. Yup, it was just as good the second time. And I have some leftover sweet potato to use again for another breakfast. Yum!

Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-WIALW13

Dinner was an old, loved recipe; Ginger Scented Tilapia and Snap Peas with Quinoa Pilaf. You can find the quinoa recipe right on this blog, but I have no link for the tilapia. I’ve pulled this recipe out of a Wegman’s magazine a few years ago and have carefully saved it ever since! I did a quick google search, and this recipe seems to be nearly identical to my beloved version.

Ginger-Scented-Tialpia-Quinoa-Pilaf-WAILW13

Sunday
We had a busy day on Sunday, and I managed to wake up super early even though the alarm clock wasn’t on (why can’t easily wake up early on weekdays and sleep in on the weekends?!). Bad news, less sleep, good news, time to make pancakes. I attempted to make a chocolate version of the two ingredient pancakes. It wasn’t that great, I didn’t take a picture.

I’d planned to make burgers for dinner but it was pouring rain, so I improvised. Since I had a few zucchinis and lots of basil in the garden I made this amazing soup. I used this recipe from Inspiralized for inspiration for some sweet potato noodles. I used bacon instead of pancetta, since that’s what I had around, and somehow managed to add the right spices to give the dish a bit of a kick. It was good, though, and I’m sure the original recipe is delicious, too!

Zucchini-Soup-Sweet-Potato-Noodles-WIALW13

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

