RSS Feed

Gluten Free Meals Weekly (What I Ate Last Week) #14

Posted on

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of all my gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

Monday
Breakfast was Baked Cookie Oatmeal. Nothing better to start off the week with than this!
For dinner I made this BLT Frittata from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen, sort of. I’ve found I like it better with more eggs, and sun dried tomatos are delicious in place of regular tomatoes. The sweet potatoes make this more filling than a normal frittata, which is always important for me!

BLT-Firttata-WIALW14

Tuesday
I’ve been working on a hashbrown/egg/bacon breakfast skillet, so I made a new version of that for breakfast. While everything didn’t turn out looking exactly as I wanted, the flavors were spot on. The hashbrowns are a combination ofย  regular and sweet potatoes. I cook the eggs so the yolks are soft, but of course you could cook the eggs longer so the yolks are cooked through.

Hashbrown-Egg-Bacon-Skillet-WIALW14

I didn’t get a photo of dinner, but it was meatballs with zucchini noodles + green beans. Can you tell we’ve been getting a lot of produce from the garden? A bunch of zucchinis this week as well as the green beans!

Wednesday
Trying to make the most of all my zucchini, I made zucchini pancakes. I used my Lemon Poppy seed pancake recipe, but left out the poppy seeds and replaced the lemon juice with milk. The pancakes are delicious and a good way to use up that summer zucchini!

For dinner I made this White Chicken Enchilada Casserole I just recently saw on Gimme Some Oven. The casserole was good, but not as flavorful as I would have wished. I think if I made it again I would double the amount of green chilis. We added taco sauce, and that helped with the flavor, too. I had a friend over for dinner that night, and I must say the casserole was so nice looking and perfect for company!

White-Chicken-Enchiladas-WIALW14

Thursday
I made this Sweet Potato & Egg Breakfast Skillet, with a bit of Al Fresco Andouille Chicken Sausage added in. I had a bit of extra sausage in the refrigerator that needed to be used up. It adds a different flavor and texture to the breakfast!

For dinner I made Pizza Spaghetti Squash. I sort of used a recipe I’ve posted before, but I cut a bunch of corners this time because I was short on time. It was just as good. Basically, I cooked the spaghetti squash, and the meat mixture, then just threw them together on the plate. Like I said, it was just as good, and I definitely claimed the leftovers!

Pizza-Spaghetti-Squash-WIALW14

Friday
I made banana sweetened oatmeal for breakfast. My oatmeal was Coconut Mocha flavored. I added some coffee extract to chocolate oatmeal to get the mocha flavor, and then topped the oatmeal with shredded coconut. Yum!

Coconut-Mocha-Oatmeal-WIALW14

For dinner I made this Salmon, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad. I was being lazy, as you can see, because I didn’t actually mix everything up like I salad. I made all the parts separately and then we just combined it on our plates. I guess I was just cutting corners all over the place this week! If it still tastes good, presentation shouldn’t matter too much, right?

Salmon:Avocado:Quinoa-WIALW14

Saturday
We left home early on Saturday morning to drive to the nearest REI (just under an hour and a half away) for their used gear sale. That meant breakfast to go! I prepped this oatmeal the night before so all we had to do was stick in in the oven for 15 minutes before heading on the door.

Oatmeal-To-GO-WIALW14

After getting some good deals at the REI Garage Sale (I got a backpack and Steve got a campstove – it was an exciting day) we were hungry and headed to a Mediterranean restaurant down the road that had gluten free falafels. I got a curry chicken dish that came with a side of falafel. I know falafels are supposed to gluten free, but why are they so often not?! Everytime I find falafels I can eat I make sure I eat plenty ๐Ÿ™‚

Meditteranean-Food-WIALW14

Sunday
I made some Banana Pancakes on Sunday morning. If you follow me on Instagram/Twitter you may have seen my post of a whole bunch of skillets on the stovetop. My non-stick skilet, which is less than a year old, has teflon flaking off. So, I got out every other skillet I have to test and see which made the easiest, best pancakes. My husband has this old, cast iron skillet we call his “family heritage”.ย  I use it often for things like brown butter, or caramelized onion but never tried it for pancakes before. Loved it. I’m going to replace my nonstick skillet with some nice cast iron, I think.

Making-Pancakes-WIALW14

Guys, it was a long week. I planned to grill on Sunday night, and then it turned out the grill was broken. I was hungry, feeling light headed, so it took all the energy I had to cook these burgers in a pan on the stove. I actually finished the first few and started eating while Steve finished the rest. Anyway, the burgers were bacon and avocado and they were good. I’d probably have more raving reviews if I hadn’t been feeling ill when eating!

Bacon-Guacamole-Burgers-WIALW14

See you all later this week for the recipe posts. I promise some good stuff is coming! My laziness in cooking won’t be reflected too much in the blog ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

