RSS Feed

A Personal Note + Blog Changes

Posted on

I don’t talk much about my personal life on this blog. I’ve never been one to freely share a lot about myself in the first place, and I think pretty much everyone tries to be careful about what personal information they put online. Our family is no different. Mostly, though, I just like to keep things about the food. This is a food blog after all, not a personal website!

Today, my personal life and this blog are intersecting more than usual, and I’m here today to tell you why!

I’ve always been the work-a-holic type. I once worked every day between Thanksgiving and Christmas. That ended with me crashing on Christmas day. Around 4pm I was so tired I just started crying. My Mom made me a bowl of mac and cheese to eat and then I went home and feel asleep around 8pm. You’d have thought I learned my lesson, but less than a year later I had three part time jobs and was working 20 self employed hours a week.

And then I moved.

I have a very specialized work skill set. Smaller cities and towns (like where we live) just don’t have the market for such a thing. I tried seeking clients when I first moved, but found that commuting 45 min to 1 hour each way just wasn’t practical. I was bored. I like to cook. So I started a food blog (probably obvious, but that’s Tastefully GF, which you are reading right now!).

I’ve had a blast writing this blog and watching it grow! I want to do more, though. I started seeking work that was “close enough” to what I really want to do. Maybe I did a good job seeking, or maybe I am a good candidate (or both?!), but I am now the proud owner of TWO jobs. It’s the work-a-holic in me coming out, I suppose, that made me take both jobs One is just a contracting position a few hours, twice a week, but during the week I will be a school teacher.

I’ve never been a school teacher before! Lesson Plans? PTA? Classroom decorations? What is that stuff?! Actually, I’ve already started orientation and have an absolutely wonderful mentor teacher, so I am sure everything will be fine. I will be busy though, especially with working during after school hours, too.

Which brings me to why this is all related to Tastefully GF. I’m not going to have a lot of time these next few weeks and I need some time to transition with as little stress as possible. So, I’ll be cutting back on how often I post. I’m not ending the blog, or even thinking of it. My plan is to just cut back from writing 3 posts a week to 2 posts a week. The “What I Ate Last Week” Posts will not be so inclusive, but just list the meals that were the highlights from the previous week.

A big thanks to those of you who have been reading this blog! I so enjoy writing it, and everytime I get a comment from someone who tried a recipe and like it my heart warms. Even comments with suggestions of how I can improve the blog make me happy, because you are giving my recipes a chance and I appreciate the feedback. I hope you continue stopping by Tastefully GF, even while I’m posting a bit less often!

 

If you are a busy school teacher, any survival tips you have are welcome!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

One response »

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Last Week #15 | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

