RSS Feed

New Feature: “Serve this with”

Posted on

Have you noticed the new “Serve this with” section appearing the the bottom of recipe posts lately?

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 5.02.36 PM

One of the best things about having a food blog is knowing exactly where to find all of your favorite recipes! I kid you not! When I am meal planning (usually on Monday mornings) I often pull up a few recipes from my own blog to make that week.

Having my recipes easily accesibile is great. I find the recipe I’m looking for, but then there’s this big looming question: What on earth did I make this with? I know I didn’t serve those Chipotle Chicken & Avocado Burgers (or insert any other recipe name here) by themselves!

Enter the “serve this with” section of the blog posts. For any recipes, aside from dessert or breakfast, I’ll have links to other recipes on the blog that would be a great pairing. Proteins will have complimentary grain and vegetable recipes, a recipe for a quinoa side dish will have serving suggestions for a meat and vegetable, etc. You get the idea! You may also find links here to simple recipe variations (like the “serve this with” for Spicy Meat Sauce, pictured above, which suggests trying it with homemade Spinach and Garlic Noodles). Sometimes the “serve this with” suggestions may not be a recipe. For example, we eat tons of summer meals with plain, steamed corn on the cob – no recipe required. If a particular meal is a one skillet dinner, casserole, or something that doesn’t really require a side dish I will make a note of that, as well.

In the future, I hope to go back and add “serve this with” suggestions for past posts, but that may take a while, so no guarantees. I hope this new feature will help you (and me!) with meal and menu planning!

Serve-This-With

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

