RSS Feed

What I Ate Last Week #16

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of my favorite gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

Breakfasts:

I’ve been counting on Baked Cookie Oatmeal and Toasted Coconut Baked Oatmeal the past few weeks. I wake up about an hour before I have to be at work, so every minute counts! I mix the wet ingredients in Pyrex bowls the night before, then add the dry ingredients in the morning and get dressed while the oatmeal bakes. I forsee a few new flavors of baked oatmeal in the near future, so that I have more flavor variety in my mornings. The picture below is the coconut version!

Toasted-Coconut-Baked-Oatmeal-WIALW16

Dinners:

As I scrolled through my food photos from this week I realized we had a lot of great food!

One of my favorite things right now are these Everything Bagel Quinoa Patties. We eat them with a whipped cheese spread that Steve makes, sort of based off this recipe. We ate the quinoa patties with zucchini noodles, spinach, and chicken. Yes, I did base the meal around the quinoa patties, not the meat/veggies! This particular zucchini noodle recipe is a concatenation of a few favorite recipes so I don’t have any easy link for it, but you can at least see how I make and cook zucchini noodles here.

Zucchini-Noodles-and-Chicken-With-Quinoa-Patties-WIALW16

Another delicious dinner was this Spicy Lime Tilapia. I pinned this a long time ago, and make it whenever I want a super simple dinner. This is uber healthy, and cooks in foil packets. All you’ll have to wash are your plates and silverware, and if you eat out of the foil packets that leaves you with even less dishes! To up the calorie count a bit (I know, it sounds weird, but no carbs leaves us hungry later) I made a bit of spicy brown rice. It was a strange combination of spices (creole seasoning +  Penzey’s chili con carne seasoning) but I enjoyed it! (Sorry about the terrible picture – I took this after eating most of my meal!)

Spicy-Lime-Tilapia-WIALW16

Another great meal is this Buffalo Chicken Quinoa Casserole. Or some title like that. The recipe is here at Half Baked Harvest (I made one of her recipes last week, too, oddly enough)! This is yummy. Just sub the 1 tablespoon of flour for a GF all purpose flour. Oh, and when I made the sauce I left out the 1/4 c butter. Still delicious.

Buffalo-Chicken-Quinoa-Casserole

On Saturday I made one of my seriously favorite foods ever: Spanikopita! Okay, so it was not the real, authentic Greek version with layers of buttery filo dough, but it was full of spinach, dill and feta cheese. I just used a “secret ingredient” in place of the filo dough. Many of you can probably guess by looking at the picture! The swap isn’t perfect, but it is so much better than never eating spanikopita at all! The recipe will be up in a couple of weeks!’

Gluten-Free-Spanikopita-Casserole-WIALW16

Last but not least is Honey Glazed Salmon with Brown Butter Lime Sauce from Cooking Classy. I’d had this pinned for a few months but hadn’t tried it yet. I’m so glad I did. Let’s just say that Steve was talking with his coworkers about how to get cheaper salmon so we could eat this more often. Served with steamed broccoli, rice, and corn on the cob it was still a simple meal with plenty of flavor.

Honey-Glazed-Salmon-with-Brown-Butter-Lime-Sauce-WIALW16

Have a wonderful week filled with lots of tasty gluten free food!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

