RSS Feed

Sweet Potato Pancakes (Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Paleo)

Grain free, dairy free, refined sugar free, and paleo sweet potato pancakes. Just in time for fall breakfasts and brunches!

Paleo-Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-Front

I’ve been on the hunt for a good sweet potato pancake recipe for a looonnnggg time. This is that recipe I’ve been looking for!

Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-Close

I found it over on Smile Sandwich (now, just saying, I seriously love that blog name. So cute!) after scrolling through at least one whole page of Pinterest in the “Food & Drink” catergory. Now, I’ve seen lots and lots of sweet potato pancakes on pinterest. Most sweet potato pancakes seem to fall into 2 categories. The first being “sweet potato” pancakes where there seems to be more flour or sugar in the recipe than sweet potato. This was not the type of recipe I was looking for.

Paleo-Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-Over

The second type of sweet potato pancakes are the paleo, organic, sugar free pancakes that are very … free form? … in shape. Do you know what I’m talking about? I really don’t have any problems with pancakes like this, really. You should see Grain Free Banana Pancakes when I make them NOT for a photograph. They are every shape but round. I’m a fan of perfection though, so I wanted at least the option of a perfect looking pancake.

Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-Tall

Well, right when I saw the perfect looking sweet potato pancake on Pinterest I knew I needed to try the recipe. I ended up making a few modifications and loved the results! Sweet Potato is the main ingredient! Rather than using sugar, I sweetened these a bit with pure maple syrup. Talk about a yummy fall breakfast: sweet potato + maple syrup!

Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-Light

Scan the ingredient list below and you’ll also notice this recipe is dairy free, grain free, and can easily be egg free with modifications. And I’m sure you didn’t miss the pictures – these super healthy sweet potato pancakes still look perfect (and I promise, I didn’t totally rig it, like with those banana pancakes).

Do yourself a favor and try these pancakes some morning soon!

Sweet-Potato-Pancakes-Slice

Sweet Potato Pancakes

This recipe calls for mashed sweet potato. To quickly make mashed sweet potato: Peel the sweet potato and cut it into 1-2″ cubes. Add to a saucepan of water and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer. Pierce potato pieces every few minutes with a fork. Once softened (around 10/15 minutes), drain the water and mash the sweet potato cubes in a bowl.
 
Ingredients (serves 2)
  • 1 c mashed sweet potato
  • 2 T coconut flour
  • 4 eggs (replace with 2 flax eggs for egg free version)
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 c pure maple syrup (more for topping, if desired)
Directions
  1. Add the eggs to a mixing bowl and beat with a fork.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and thoroughly mix until a batter forms.
  3. Heat a nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat.
  4. Add batter, about 2 T at a time (If you batter is thick, spread it out with a spoon. It will spread into a circle easily). Cook until the bottom of the pancake is set and the top is more opaque looking, not shiny. Flip, and cook another minute or two on the second side.
  5. Eat as is, or with additional maple syrup.

This recipe post is linked to the Gluten Free Wednesdays Carnival! Check it out at Gluten Free Homemaker, Easily Gluten Free, or Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures.

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

11 responses »

  1. I’ve never had sweet potato pancakes before, but these look delicious! I think I’ll have to try them 🙂

    Reply
  2. These sound like a perfect fall breakfast. Need to pick up some sweet potatoes soon, so I can try them. Yumm!

    Reply
  3. These look perfect! This is one of my favorite pancake recipes – I’m so glad you found it and tried it. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Spiralized Hash Brown, Egg, and Bacon Bake | Tastefully Gluten Free

  5. Pingback: 30 Paleo Breakfast Ideas {Nut Free, Egg Free and AIP Options} - Feasting On Joy

  6. Is the baking powder a half teaspoon or half tablespoon?

    Reply
  7. Okay, I felt they needed a little salt. And, they are more like a fritter, even added some coconut milk and flour (about halfway through but it just helped them cook more evenly. Very good flavor. I think the recipe needs tweaking they are very thick and then creamy in middle. They lose shape when turning but can be smashed flat again, no problem. Will make again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

