RSS Feed

Gluten Free Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #17

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of my favorite gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!
 
Breakfasts

I’m not too much of an early morning person, but knowing I have a good breakfast coming to me sometimes helps me get out of bed. These egg and avocado breakfast tacos have really quickly become a favorite for us. I love just the egg and mashed avocado wrapped in a tortilla, but my husband loves his with bacon added in his breakfast taco. Cooking up bacon and eggs in the morning actually doesn’t take very long at all, which is a big plus!

Egg-Avocado-Breakfast-Taco-WIALW17

Another great breakfast this week has been granola. Usually I’m not too keen on the gluten free granolas, but I have a few varieties stashed in the cupboard. I’ve been mixing a chocolate version with an unsweetened version in a 1 to 3 ratio with some milk. It’s a great solution for a rushed morning!

Gluten-Free-Granolas-WIALW17

Dinners

First up for the dinners this week was Steve’s stir fry invention of the week. This stir fry was beef and carrots with a crazy sauce. I think Italian dressing was the base, but there was a decent amount of sriracha in there for some heat, among other things. The inventive sauce was good, but I don’t really enjoy the flavor of carrots so it wasn’t my favorite meal ever.

Beef-Carrot-Rice-Stir-Fry-WIALW17

I made one of our most favorite dinners ever this week. We call it “Dolphin” (long story) but it is actually called Roz bi Farakh and the recipe is on MidEats. After lots of experimenting I’ve found that sauteed kale is the perfect accompaniment to this chicken, rice, and yogurt sauce. The flavors are all simple things you probably have in your pantry, but come together perfectly. My only modifications to this recipe are adding extra lemon juice to the chicken marinade, and making the sauce entirely with greek yogurt, rather than a yogurt/mayo combination. It’s always a hit!

Chicken-Rice-Yogurt-Sauce-Kale-WIALW17

We had another one of my most favorite meals ever this week, Thai Basil Chicken. We needed to do some some major trimming on one of our Thai Basil bushes, so this recipe was the perfect solution for what to do with all of that freshly cut Thai Basil. This recipe was the second post I ever made on this blog, so the photography over on that post is a bit embarrassing. I encourage you to try this anyway, though. It’s excellent! On this particular day I served Thai Basil Chicken with rice and roasted broccoli. I seasoned the broccoli with garlic and chili powder before roasting it in the oven. It was also quite good. Steve had to remind me to finish the chicken and rice on my plate and stop eating all of the broccoli out of the serving bowl!

Thai-Basil-Chicken-WIALW17

One thing I made this week, and didn’t get a photo of was the Bacon Beef Butternut Squash from Civilized Caveman Cooking. I had this pinned for a while and was waiting for butternut squash to go on sale to try it. The squash took way longer to cook than the recipe said (maybe difference in ovens?) and it wasn’t quite as flavorful as I hoped. I may try this again sometime when I have more time to cook the squash, and also use beef with a higher fat content for a bit more flavor. The balsamic carmelized onion topping was quite tasty – no changes needed there!!!

Last on this week’s list are Buffalo Turkey & Veggie Flatbreads. The recipe inspiration is from Little Leopard Book. I’ve made a number of changes, mainly based on ingredients that I keep on hand. I make a creamy base using greek yogurt and dry ranch seasoning, then double the veggies that go into the buffalo turkey mixture. I make mine with corn tortillas and Steve’s with flour tortillas. These are tasty and really filling! I made three for myself, and was full after one and a half! Luckily, my favorite leftovers are usually buffalo flavored foods!

Grilled-Buffalo-Turkey-Veggie-Flatbreads-Gluten-Free-WIALW17

Hope this post gives you a bit of inspiration for your gluten free meals this week! See you on Thursday for a new recipe!

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

