RSS Feed

Bacon, Egg, and Avocado Breakfast Wraps

Posted on
A 15 minute, warm breakfast. Well rounded, tasty, and fast enough for a weekday morning.
Bacon-Egg-Avocado-Tortilla-Wrap-Close

If you’re already tired of Pumpkin Spice everything recipes then you are in the right spot today! Here’s a totally non-seasonal, no pumpkin in sight recipe. Not to say I don’t love pumpkin, because I do! I’m just saving my pumpkin recipes for next month 😉

I’ve been going on and on about these wraps on so many of my Gluten Free Weekly Meals posts. I figured it was about time to bring you the recipe.

Really, this is hardly a recipe at all. There are so few ingredients and the prep is so minimal. I guess that makes it the perfect recipe for anyone who isn’t looking to spend hours in the kitchen! Yeah, this isn’t as quick as grabbing a bowl of cereal in the morning, but about 15 minutes to a warm, whole foods breakfast is a good deal.

Bacon-Egg-Avocado-Wrap-Avocado

Now, confession time: I actually never eat this with bacon. I just find bacon, well . . . disgusting. I’ll eat turkey bacon every once in a while, as part of a recipe, but not on it’s own. Greasy foods are not my thing. For me, this breakfast becomes a tortilla spread with mashed avocado (seasoned with lime, of course), topped with an over-medium cooked egg. I’m telling you, that right there is a really satisfying, well rounded breakfast. I actually served it this way for a while, and one day it dawned on my that Steve may enjoy some bacon with his breakfast. Against my better judgement I got some of that *real* bacon at the grocery store. I cooked up a few slices the next morning to go with this breakfast and it was a big hit. Apparently, like out of this world good. Like, telling his best friend about it over video games that evening good.

Eh, I still prefer my breakfast wraps without bacon.

Of course, you can, and should, make yours however you’d like!

Bacon-Egg-Avocado-Wrap-Over

Bacon, Egg, and Avocado Breakfast Wraps

Ingredients
  • 8 slices of bacon (turkey bacon, regular bacon, any type of bacon you like)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 – 2 T water
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 T lime juice (or more, to taste – sometimes I vary the amount depending on the size of the avocado)
  • salt, optional
Directions
  1. In a large skillet, preferably one that has a lid, cook the bacon over medium heat. (I don’t have the best bacon cooking technique BUT here’s how I do it: Turn my heat to medium and put the bacon in the skillet. Once the bacon starts sizzling I flip it every minute or so. Once the bacon starts “foaming” on both sides I transfer it to a plate lined with paper towels). Once the bacon has finished cooking drain out any excess fat from the pan.
  2. While the bacon is cooking mash the avocado in a small bowl. Stir in the lime juice. Sprinkle with salt, if desired.
  3. In the same skillet, still over medium heat, crack each of the eggs into the pan. Do your best to keep them separate, but if the eggs run into each other a bit it is okay. You can cook them in batches if all 4 eggs don’t fit into your skillet. Once you’ve cracker all the eggs into the pan add 1 T of water and cover. Cook for 3 – 4 minutes for over-medium eggs, or until you see the thin white layer from over top of the yolk. Watch the pan as you cook (I like to use a glass lid), and add the second tablespoon of water if the first cooks off. If you like your yolks cooked through, just add a couple minutes to the cooking time.
  4. Using a tortilla warmer, or just stacked on a plate, microwave the corn tortillas for 30 seconds.
  5. To serve, spread the mashed avocado on each tortilla. Add two slices of bacon and an egg to each tortilla. Fold or wrap up to eat. Or you can use a folk, I suppose.

 

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

