RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #21

Posted on

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of my favorite gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

Breakfasts

I did a much better job photographing my breakfasts this week! First up is what is turning into my busy day breakfast. I found that on those days where I hardly have a chance to eat more than three bites of lunch this keeps me fueled until I do finally have a chance to eat another real meal. I love the Udi’s Gluten Free MultiGrain bread. The texture is great when I toast in the my toaster oven and it tastes great with some mashed avocado on top. Along with some eggs, I eat this breakfast with a few hand fulls of GF Granola I found at Aldi.

Gluten-Free-Eggs-Toast-WIALW21

I tried a new oatmeal recipe this weekend via Oh She Glows. This chocolatey oatmeal has a not so secret ingredient: sweet potato! I had an extra half of a sweet potato so I thought it was the perfect time to try out my new oatmeal recipe find. The texture of the oatmeal was not the same as usual oats so the first few bites were a bit of a surprise. The only change I would make to this recipe would be adding the cocoa powder sooner, before the liquid was boiling, so it wouldn’t clump.

Sweet-Potato-Oatmeal-WIALW21

This is a very simple, non-recipe breakfast. It’s kind of my go to breakfast and lunch when there is seriously no food in the house. Scramble egg + corn tortilla with toppings. This was Steve’s plate – if you remember from my last post I don’t really like bacon! We use pretty normal toppings for these egg breakfast wraps – cheese, hot sauce, etc.

Gluten-Free-Breakfast-Wraps-WIALW21

Dinners

I made a bunch of new things this week for the blog – one being Bacon Cheeseburger Macaroni. I said to Steve “this is our unhealthy thing for the week”, but it really wasn’t all that bad on the unhealthy chart. I used lean ground turkey and turkey bacon, brown rice pasta, tomato sauce, and a few spices for the bulk of the dish. Yes, there is cheese, a good amount of cheese, but every once a while I enjoy something cheesy! This is a one pot 30 minute dinner. Some nights you just need that, cheesy or not.

Bacon-Cheeseburger-Macaroni-Gluten-Free-WIALW-21

My other recipe for the blog this week was Taco Chili made in the crockpot. I don’t have nearly enough slow cooker recipes and this is one to add to the arsenal. The taco flavor comes from some homemade taco seasoning + taco sauce. This is one of the very few bottled, processed items I continue to buy at the grocery store. Add some of whatever heat level you like. I served this with Cilantro Lime Rice for a really flavorful combination.

Taco-Chili-Gluten-Free-WIALW21

Then there was hummus crusted chicken with zucchini noodles. The hummus crusted chicken came from a recipe on Gimme Some Oven. Instead of baking over top of summer squash I served the chicken with zucchini noodles. Try it with the garlic zucchini noodles from this recipe for a great combination!

Hummus-Crusted-Chicken-Zucchini-Noodles-WIALW21

Lastly was soup night! It was a cold, rainy weekend and I was in the mood for soup. This Green Lentil Soup with Curried Brown Butter is a favorite of mine. I love how filling this soup is, thanks to the lentils, and then wonderfully unexpected flavor from the curry powder!

Green-Lentil-Soup-WIALW21

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

