RSS Feed

Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #22

Posted on

Welcome to this week’s post of Gluten Free Weekly Meals! Every week, I take photos of the gluten free recipes I make from all over the web and then share my thoughts. Throughout the week you can find pictures of what I’ve been eating on my Instagram (tastefullygf) and Twitter (@tastefullygf). Each Monday I post a list of my favorite gluten free meals from the last week. You’ll see my photos of the food, a link to the recipe, and any modifications I made. To see previous “Gluten Free Weekly Meals” posts, just use the search bar on the right side of the page. You can also find these recipes on my Pinterest boards. I hope these posts provide you with some gluten free cooking inspiration!

Breakfasts

First up this week is Toasted Coconut Baked Oatmeal. Whenever I have some extra coconut milk after not quite using a whole can in a recipe this is what I make! On this particular morning I topped my oatmeal with a few chocolate chips, which was a fun extra!

Gluten-Free-Coconut-Baked-Oatmeal-WIALW22

I also made The Oatmeal Artist’s Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal this week, twice actually, and was very happy with it! One time I baked in some chocolate chips and the other time I didn’t. I thoroughly enjoyed it both ways!

Baked-Pumpkin-Oatmeal-WIALW22

Lunches

As usually, lunches were strictly dinner leftovers. I always make more than I need at dinnertime so I don’t have to do more than grab a leftover container filled with my lunch the next day.

Dinners

Cauliflower Crust Pizza! I’d made one of these before and it tasted good but the crust was mush and had to be eaten with a fork. After reading through a whole bunch of different cauliflower crust recipes it seemed like the winning combination was grated, roasted, and drained cauliflower mixed with egg and cheese. I baked my crust for about 15 minutes on the first side, which was a bit too long, and then about 5 minutes on the second side. I put on my toppings – garlic and oil, mozzarella, black olives – and then cooked until the cheese melted. It was a bit more work than I had hoped, but the pizza was delicious. I will definitely make this again!

Cauliflower-Pizza-Crust-Gluten-Free-WIALW22

Speaking of cauliflower, I also made this Cauliflower Poppers Skillet recipe from iFoodReal for dinner this week. Can you tell cauliflower had been on sale at the grocery store? I served the cauliflower over some zucchini noodles, and had quinoa patties on the side for a whole grain. The quinoa patties and zucchini noodles are favorites here, so I knew we would enjoy those. I was a bit nervous about serving cauliflower as the main dish, but once we smelled it cooking we were both sold! The onion and garlic are so fragrant and flavorful. I ate the leftovers for a snack that night!

Cauliflower-Poppers-Zucchini-Noodles-Quinoa-Patties

Off the subject of cauliflower, I did make one of all time favorite dinners, Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash. You’ve heard me go on about this before if you’ve read this blog before, I’m sure! It is so delicious, yet still manages to be healthy. The recipe makes lots so that you have plenty of leftovers!

Buffalo-Chicken-Spaghetti-Squash-Close

I tried a new stir-fryish recipe this week, from Minimalist Baker. I intended to make this peanut tofu exactly as written in the recipe, but I got sick, my meal plan got shifted, and I ended up preparing it on a day when I wasn’t going to be home for an hour and a half before dinner to drain tofu. So, I just dry fried it in a skillet, then added the sauce. The peanut sauce was a wonderful combination of flavors, and not too sweet like others I have tried. The kale made a great addition. I used regular white rice instead of cauliflower rice because it was just easier.

Peanut-Tofu-Kale-Rice-WIALW22

If you’ve made it this far down the post, congratulations! These weekly meal posts get long! Before I sign off I just want to share that I’ll be a little bit off my regular posting schedule this week. Instead of Monday/Thursday I have three new posts this week, so check back on Wednesday and Friday this week! Or, just subscribe to the blog for email updates, and you wont have to worry about checking back for new recipes 🙂

 

 

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

