RSS Feed

Review: Foster Farms Gluten Free Corn Dogs

Posted on

A few months ago, when Foster Farms asked me to review their new gluten free corn dogs, I was so excited. Trying new gluten free products is one of my favorite things! Seeing new GF products pop up always has me thinking about what yummy things could be next (Personally, I’m still holding out for a gluten free cheese crackers). I feel more and more normal with each new product that I can eat! Like, a real person who has more than half an aisle of options at the grocery store.

Foster-Farms-Gluten-Free-Corn-Dogs3

When it came time to taste test the corn dogs, I have to say, I was having second thoughts. I just tend not to eat a lot of food from boxes. Why I would even consider touting a product on my blog that I wouldn’t realistically eat? Steve was excited, at least, and promptly ate 2 for breakfast the next morning, and *actually* liked them. He does not usually enjoy gluten free remakes of gluten containing food.

Well, it was around 3:00pm on a Saturday afternoon when I tried my first of the Foster Farm Corn Dogs. I’d woken up late enough that breakfast had basically become lunch. It was too soon for dinner, but I was worn out from doing gardening and getting hangry (you know, hungry + angry = hangry). After whining on the sofa for a few minutes about nothing to eat, blah blah blah, I realized it was the perfect opportunity to try a corn dog. I popped one in the toaster oven, sat down to write a blog post, and 20 minutes later it was ready.

My first bite was surprisingly good. I had another bite, and then another. The crust was so good – just slightly sweet, with a crunch. I after about half, then stuck my head outside to excitedly tell Steve (who was pulling overgrown vines off of a fence in the yard) that I was eating a corn dog! You better believe I went right back inside and ate the rest!

Foster-Farms-Gluten-Free-Corn-Dogs2

One evening, when hosting a super casual party, we did a blind taste test and gave the Foster Farms Gluten Free Corns dogs to anyone who wanted one. No one knew they were gluten free! Almost everyone had seconds . . and then thirds!

Foster-Farms-Gluten-Free-Corn-Dogs4

A few important details, before I get carried away. The box gives you a few cooking options, and I have only tested these by baking them, never in the microwave. We’ve used the oven and the toaster oven, both with the same great results.

Let me also take a minute to point out that these corn dogs are made from chicken that is NOT treated with hormones or steroids, so what you’re eating is actually a higher quality meat. It’s definitely not the “mystery meat” type of corn dogs they serve for school lunches!

Finally, because I was curious, and new GF products usually take a year to end up on shelves where I live, I checked a few local grocery stores to see if any had the Foster Farms GF corn dogs. Not only did the stores with gluten free sections have them in stock, but even a store I sometimes shop at that has no specialty gluten free products had these in the freezer section. This isn’t a “only in the big cities” product, it’s probably already at your nearest grocery store!

Foster-Farms-Gluten-Free-Corn-Dogs-Review1

So, yes, GF frozen corn dogs aren’t a typical meal for me, but I still have thoroughly enjoyed these, and everyone else who tried them did, too! What I really like most about this product though is the convenience, and that I don’t have to sacrifice taste to get it. There are not a lot of bake and eat, no effort required gluten free meals out there. I’ve eaten a few gluten free frozen burritos here and there, but they all have been cardboard-like in texture and taste. If I’m sick, short or time, or just not in the mood to cook, I’ll be glad to have a box of these corn dogs in my freezer for a quick, easy, and tasty meal!

 

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a Reply

