RSS Feed

Gluten Free Meals Weekly (What I Ate Last Week) #1

Posted on

Welcome to my first “What I’ve been eating” post! If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram (@tastefullygf) you’ve probably noticed I’ve been posting pictures of food all week long. Here’s where you’ll find a recap of what I are each day last week, my thoughts on each meal and links to all of the recipes.

Monday

Breakfast was Peppermint Mocha Oatmeal with a cup of decaf coffee. This oatmeal was my own creation and isn’t on the blog yet. I’m planning an big oatmeal post in the next few weeks with tons of ideas for flavor variations.

IMG_0401

Lunch was leftover Chicken & Asparagus stir fry. It makes a quick dinner, and the leftovers are always just as good.

Chicken-Asparagus-Stir-Fry-WIATH1

Dinner was Chicken Chilaquiles Casserole. It was good! But you’ll have to wait until later this week for the recipe – it’ll be here before Cinco de Mayo!

Chicken-Chilaquiles-Casserole-WIATW1

Tuesday

Breakfast was hashbrowns and eggs. I use the Simply Potatoes hashbrowns. They’re so much easier than making them from scratch and are gluten free. I must have been hungry, because I devoured most of my breakfast before I even remember to snap a photo.

Hashbrowns-and-Eggs-WIATW1

Lunch was a combination of a few leftovers. I topped a few of these Polenta Squares from the Kitchn (I can not more highly recommend this blog. You can find almost anything you want to know about cooking/baking/kitchen within the posts) with this Black Bean Chili from Kalyn’s Kitchen (another blog I check daily and often cook from). I did kind of mess up the proportions of the chili when I realized it wouldn’t all fit in my crock pot. It was still delicious.

Polenta-Squares-Black-Bean-Chili-WIATW1

For dinner I made these Healthy Sweet Potato Skins from Pinch of Yum. I found the recipe wasn’t quite up to my standards of “healthy” so I swapped butter for olive oil and the sour cream and cream cheese for greek yogurt. Then Steve commented that it tasted “buttery and creamy”. Win! We each at 2 skins (I made 8, total). The taste was excellent and the only reason neither of us ate more is because they were so filling!

Healthy-Sweet-Potato-Skins-WIATW1

Wednesday

Breakfast on Wednesday was what we refer to as “baked oatmeal”. It’s so good that I made it twice this week and forgot to take a picture each time. I this oatmeal needs it’s own post. I’ll work on that.

For lunch I had leftovers from the Chicken Chilaquiles Casserole. Still good a few days later, maybe even a little more flavorful!

Leftover-Chicken-Chilaquiles-Casserole-WIATW1

Dinner was an experiment – an experiment that worked. I wanted to make this Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Casserole. I didn’t want to use 4 Tbs of butter. I ended up successfully making a dry roux for the sauce, and then added quinoa to the bottom of the casserole. The ratios weren’t perfect, so I’ll have to work on it a bit more before I share the recipe.

Cheesy-Broccoli-and-Chicken-WIATW1

Thursday

Breakfast was another excellent recipe from the Kitchn, Sweet Potato Hash with Sausage & Eggs. Just make this. You will like it.

IMG_0507

I had leftovers for lunch, which I forgot to take a piocture of.

Dinner was Asian Spaghetti, which I also forgot to take a picture of. My recipe is based off of this recipe for Szechuan Noodles.

Friday

I had Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal for breakfast.

Chocolate-Coconut-Oatmeal-WIATW1

Lunch was leftovers, again, and I forgot to take a picture, again.

For once in my life it was dinner time and I didn’t want to cook! We went out for sushi. The place is called Yokohama, and I learned how to safely order GF sushi there. It’s always a fun treat to go out for sushi!

Sushi-WIATW1

Saturday

I made these Zucchini Pancakes for breakfast. Apparently they taste like “real” pancakes. I just subbed in Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour. I didn’t get a picture. The pancakes don’t end up looking pretty – they flatten a lot – but are delicious!!!! Oh, and I used applesauce in place of the butter.

I’m not sure if I ate lunch on Saturday. I don’t have pictures of it, and breakfast didn’t happen until almost noon! Dinner made up for lunch though. I made this Salmon with Avocado Salsa. OMG. So good. Really good. I grilled some asparagus and made a bit of quinoa to round out the meal.

Salmon-with-Avocado-Salsa-WIATW1

Sunday

Breakfast was more of the Sweet Potato Hash mentioned earlier. When I make this, I prep a big batch and then have a few days of breakfasts out of it. It takes just 15 minutes in the oven in the morning (if prepped before hand) so it’s great for a busy morning.

I ate cookies for lunch on Sunday. It wasn’t ideal, but they were just sitting on the shelf tempting me.

Flourless-Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Reese's-Stuffed-Cookies-2

For dinner we had pizza. Well, I had an ordinary pizza – if you call using coconut flour for a pizza crust normal. I made this strange pizza sandwich thing for Steve. It was Jalapeno pizza dough filled with bacon, onions, spinach, pesto, and mozzarella.

Pizzas-WIATW1

And that was my week of gluten free eating! Check back next Monday for another week of meal ideas! To see the day by day blow, remember to follow me on Twitter and Instagram (tastefullygf).

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

4 responses »

  1. thanks so much for trying our salmon! i’m SO glad you loved it! its one of my favorite recipes on the site. i can’t wait to try some of the other recipes you posted! great site 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks, Becky! I’m definitely going to be trying some of the other recipes on your blog, too. Where there is one good recipe there are bound to be others! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #2 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  3. Pingback: Quinoa, Avocado & Salmon Salad | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a comment