RSS Feed

2014 Gardening Report #3

Posted on

It’s been nearly 2 months since my last garden update, and a lot has happened in my garden in that time!

We have cucumbers . . .

A-Cucumber-Garden-Update-7:2014

. . . and zucchinis.

A-Zucchini-Garden-Update-7:2014

There is tons of fresh basil,

Using-Fresh-Basil-7:2014-Garden-Update

and even more mint!

Mint-Garden-Update-7:2014

There’s a whole bunch of oregano, too!

Oregano-Garden-Update-7:2014

I sort of cheated with getting some sage going, it’s a starter plant that my mother in law got for me.

Sage-Garden-Update-7:2014

The only herb that isn’t doing too well is the parsley. No matter how much I cut it down, I can’t get it to stop flowering. It hardly produces leaves anymore, just flowers.

Parsley-Flowering-Garden-Update-7:2014

On the less successful side, the green bean plants are not producing many beans. There are some, but they are small, and the plants have not gotten very big at all.

Green-Beans-Garden-Update-7:2014

I’m having trouble with pests and broccoli. The leaves keep getting eaten! I do have one broccoli plants that the bugs haven’t found yet.

Broccoli-Garden-Update-7:2014

The cauliflower is growing sooo slowly. This was something I was so excited to grow, but I’m not sure if I’ll get any yield. I suppose there’s still plenty of growing season. Only time will tell what happens.

Small-Cauliflower-Garden-Update-7:2014

The tomato, tomatillo, and bell pepper plants are all slow growing. The tomatillo plant is flowering (so are the tomato plants, but the photo is of tomatillo), which means tomatillos are coming soon!

Tomatillo-Garden-Update-7:2014

Here’s a creative pot for a tomato plant (we have a few tomato plants in more traditional containers, too).

Creative-Tomato-Plant-Garden-Update-7:2014

Some of the most exciting gardening developments have been the “volunteer plants” that have grown up from the compost. We dug up some potatoes that had grown from kitchen scraps, and that mystery plant I was talking about is a Spaghetti Squash! How exciting! Composting has been so rewarding. It’s transformed our sandy soil into something that actually supports plant life. Watching things grow from the compost is so neat, too. It’s so much better than just trashing your kitchen scraps!

Spaghetti-Squash-Garden-Update-3

We have more plants growing than I’ve showed you today. This would be one long post if I wrote about everything we have growing. These are just the current highlights!

What’s growing in your garden?

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

2 responses »

Leave a comment