RSS Feed

Spaghetti Squash with Avocado and Asiago

Posted on
 This recipe is the third in my month-long series of healthy, weeknight recipes from all around the web. This is stuff I make time and again, usually with some modifications, and still love! Check back (or follow this blog) to see all of the recipes I’ll be featuring this month!

Spaghetti Squash is quite possibly my favorite food, and this recipe is my current food obsession.

Spaghetti-Squash-With-Avocado-Asiago-Healthy-Gluten-Free-Dinner

I already have a some favorite spaghetti squash recipes (Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash, Pizza Spaghetti Squash, Spicy Sriracha and Turkey Spaghetti Squash) but I still found myself googling “spaghetti squash recipes” a couple of months ago. You can never have too much of your favorite food, right?!

I was intrigued – this recipe, from The Kitchn – looked so, so simple and had raving reviews. I had to try it. And I did. And we loved it. Even the leftovers for lunch the next day, with slightly browning avocado. Still loved it.

Spaghetti-Squash-With-Avocado-Asiago-Healthy-Dinner-Side-Dish

Of course, I made some modifications to the recipe, mostly by accident (I figured I had the gist of the recipe, and didn’t actually look at it when I was cooking. Ended up missing a few ingredients – opps!). We tried topping this with freshly grated asiago and freshly grated parmesan and the asiago was just slightly better. I found the cheese was salty enough, so I don’t add any salt or pepper to the recipe.

Squash is filling, so this makes a great vegetarian dinner. You can also serve this as a side to meat or fish (serve “Serve this with” section below recipe).

Spaghetti-Squash-Avocado-Asiago-Healthy-Weeknight-Dinner

Spaghetti Squash with Avocado and Asiago

Ingredients

  • 1 large spaghetti squash (mine are usually in the 4 lb. range)
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 avocado, cut into cubes
  • 1/4 c freshly grated asiago cheese, for topping (parmesan also works)

Cooking Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 374° F.
  2. While the oven is preheating but the spaghetti squash in half and place it face down on a baking sheet.
  3. Bake the squash for 30 – 45 minutes. You don’t want to overcook the squash so start checking every 5 minutes or so once it reaches the 30 min mark. You want the cooked squash to separate in strands but still be fairly firm. It should not be at all mushy.
  4. Towards the end of the baking time for the squash heat the olive oil over medium heat in a small skillet.
  5. Add the minced garlic when the oil is warm. Cook, stirring constantly to prevent burning, until you see a couple pieces of garlic just start to turn tan in color. Remove from heat.
  6. When the squash is done and has cooled down for a few minutes use a fork to scrape the strands out of the shell. Put the spaghetti squash in a bowl and stir in the garlic olive oil.
  7. Serve with the asiago cheese and avocado.

Recipe Inspiration: The Kitchn

Serve This With:

 

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

Leave a comment