RSS Feed

Mashed Cauliflower

Posted on

I seriously love mashed potatoes but I also love being healthy. If I can seamlessly swap a vegetable into my meal in place of a carbohydrate then I am going to do it!

Mashed Cauliflower 1

When I first heard about mashed cauliflower I was a bit skeptical. I never really liked cauliflower much so I wasn’t sure how it could fill in for something that I reeeeaaallly enjoyed.  Given that cauliflower is nutritionally better than white potatoes I figured I should at least give it a try. I prepared it one night for the first time, probably about a year ago, with some salisbury steak. The mashed cauliflower was sweeter than mashed potatoes, but other than that there was no difference. It was still smooth and creamy, and really, the sweetness was only very slight. Overall, the result was good enough that I have gone back and made mashed cauliflower over and over again in the past year (like in this casserole I posted a few weeks ago).

Making mashed cauliflower is easy. I cut the the cauliflower head into florets and boil them in a large pot until they are soft. Once the cauliflower is cooked and drained I use my immersion blender to make it smooth and and silky. I add in some greek yogurt for consistency, and garlic powder and salt for taste. I serve it topped with sliced green onions or chopped parsley.

Mashed Cauliflower 2

In my year of experimenting with mashed cauliflower I’ve found that the size of a head can really vary. Depending on which grocery stores I go to, whether I get the organic brand or not, just the time of year, I may end up with a larger or smaller head of cauliflower. For this reason, consider the measurements for greek yogurt, garlic powder and salt just a starting point. When you’re trying this recipe, add in the measurements listed, then taste a bit, and add more as necessary. If the consistency isn’t quite as smooth as you’d like add more of the greek yogurt. If you’re not happy with the flavor add more of the garlic powder or salt. If there is anything else that you usually add to your mashed potatoes, go ahead and put that in. Keep in mind that if you are topping the potatoes with gravy those flavors will mask a lot of the cauliflower flavor.

If you haven’t jumped on the mashed cauliflower bandwagon yet, I urge you to give it a try. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at how good this veggie can taste!

Mashed Cauliflower 3

Mashed Cauliflower

The measurements listed for greek yogurt, garlic powder, and salt are just a starting point. Add more depending on your tastes.
 
Ingredients
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 3 Tbs greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
Directions
  1. Place the cauliflower florets into a large pot and fill with water so that all of the cauliflower is covered. Bring to a boil, and then reduce the heat to medium. Simmer until the cauliflower is very soft (test with a fork), about 20 – 30 minutes depending on the size of the florets.
  2. Drain the cauliflower and place back in the pan or into a serving bowl. Using an immersion blender (or use a food processor or blender), blend the cauliflower until all lumps are gone.
  3. Add in the greek yogurt, garlic powder, and salt and blend until combined. Taste test, and add more greek yogurt, salt, or garlic powder if  desired.
  4. Serving options: top with chopped parsley or green onions.

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

6 responses »

  1. Oh I love mashed cauliflower!

    Reply
  2. I’ve been looking for a good mashed cauliflower recipe. This looks great and easy to make.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Favorites Recipes of 2013 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. Pingback: Crispy Parmesan Chicken | Tastefully Gluten Free

Leave a comment