RSS Feed

Basic Cinnamon Vanilla Oatmeal

Posted on

I really, really though I’d posted this recipe months ago. I eat it at least once a week! It wasn’t until I was on the Daniel Fast and blogging about what I ate that I realized I hadn’t. Oppps! Better late then never, right?

Cinnamon Oatmeal 1

I call this recipe “Basic Cinnamon Vanilla Oatmeal” because it ends up being the base for many of my oatmeal creations. Some mornings I stir in peanut butter or almond butter, other mornings I add some dates and some coconut, other times I top it with chocolate chips. Steve likes his with an apple. There are lots of options for yummy additions. Yet, really, even served with no toppings or additions I find this oatmeal delicious every time. It has a sort of gentle sweetness, perfect for breakfast, but enough of a flavor to keep me interested enough to eat the whole bowl.

Cinnamon Oatmeal 2

This oatmeal recipe class for imitation vanilla extract. Over the past few months I’ve come to prefer the imitation vanilla over the real stuff, especially in my oatmeal. Add too much of a pure extract to oatmeal and sometimes it taste more like alcohol than the flavor I’m shooting for (at least for me – but I hate that alcohol-y flavor). With the imitation vanilla I can dump in a whole teaspoon and get tons of vanilla flavor with no alcohol-y taste. I don’t feel badly about using a whole teaspoon of imitation vanilla in just one oatmeal serving because I know it’s SO much cheaper than the pure vanilla extract. Of course, if you prefer the real stuff then swap it out in the recipe. Just be sure to use less. I’d suggest starting with 1/4 tsp and adding more in 1/4 tsp increments if needed.

Cinnamon Oatmeal 4

Next time you are feeling creative give this oatmeal a try – and let me know what you add in!

Cinnamon Oatmeal 3

Basic Cinnamon Vanilla Oatmeal

Ingredients
  • 1/2 c GF oats
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/2 c milk of choice
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp imitation vanilla extract
Directions
  1. In a small saucepan, bring the oats, water, and milk to a boil.
  2. While the oats and liquid are coming to a boil mash the banana. Slicing the banana, then microwave it for 30 – 45 seconds will make mashing much easier.
  3. When the oats begin to boil turn the heat down to medium and stir in the mashed banana. Stir frequently for 5 – 10, until the oats have absorbed most of the liquid and thickened.
  4. Stir in the cinnamon and vanilla, and cook for another minute or two (or until the oatmeal reaches your desired consistency).
  5. Enjoy as is or top with any nut butter or nuts, coconut, chocolate chips, fresh fruit, etc.

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!

11 responses »

  1. Looks good! Oatmeal is the best!

    Reply
  2. I love oatmeal. This looks and sounds delish! This is a nice recipe, thanks

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #2 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  4. Pingback: How To: Make Banana Sweetened Oatmeal (+ tons of flavor variations) | Tastefully Gluten Free

  5. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #9 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  6. Ya I tried it with real vanilla which I added 2 teaspoons and still didn’t get a good vanilla taste. I am going to be trying the imitation vanilla next

    Reply
  7. Can this recipe be done in the microwave

    Reply
  8. Sometimes the best recipes are basic and delicious!

    Reply

Leave a comment