RSS Feed

“2 Ingredient” French Toast Pancakes

Posted on

I’m loving these 2 Ingredient Pancakes. The recipe has been all over the internet lately. Pancakes with a banana and eggs?! Its a revolutionary new breakfast item! This version actually has 5 ingredients, but I think the extra measuring is worth the trade off for extra flavor.

2-Ingredient-Pancakes-Tall

Although I still love Grain Free Banana Pancakes, this is my current favorite banana-based pancake. If you follow me on instagram and twitter than you know I’ve been eating these at least one a week. Why do I love these pancakes so much? Maybe it’s that they mix together quicker than any other pancake batter. Maybe it’s because they’re made with whole foods and clean eating ingredients. Maybe it’s because they taste like french toast. Maybe it’s because they taste like french toast AND aren’t just a plate full of carbs and sugar. Maybe it’s because I can eat the whole batch and still be under my allotted 350 – 400 calories for breakfast. Maybe it’s because I have so many extra calories that I get to add peanut butter to my stack of pancakes.

So many good reasons to love these pancakes.

2-Ingredient-French-Toast-Pancakes-Square

On a more practical note, these couldn’t be simpler to make. Mash a ripe banana and mix it with two eggs. Add some baking soda, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. Cook like any other pancake. Eat the entire plate full. Personally, I like to make mini pancakes, but you could always make full size pancakes. The one trick I have to offer is that I’ve noticed these pancakes cook a bit more evenly if you cover the pan while they are cooking. Once you’ve flipped the pancakes and they are cooking on the second side leave the cover off.

These pancakes are fun, tasty, impressive, and a great way to enjoy gluten free and grain free pancakes with little work!

2-Ingredient-Pancakes-French-Toast-Close

“Two Ingredient” French Toast Pancakes

Makes about 15 mini pancakes. Recipe easily doubles, triples, etc!
 
Ingredients
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
Directions
  1. In a bowl, mash the banana.
  2. Using a fork, whisk the eggs into the banana to form a thin batter.
  3. Add the baking powder, cinnamon, and vanilla extract, and whisk again, until the cinnamon is evenly distributed throughout the batter (if the cinnamon is sticking to the sides of the bowl just keep scraping it off and stirring. Eventually it will blend in).
  4. Heat a non stick skillet over medium heat. When the skillet is hot, add batter to the pan using 2 tablespoons for each pancakes. Cover the skillet.
  5. When the bubbles on the top of the pancakes have popped and the batter looks more opaque than wet, flip the pancakes.
  6. Cook until the second side is golden brown, leaving the lid off of the skillet.
  7. Repeat with all remaining batter.
  8. If desired, top with peanut butter, syrup, cinnamon, etc.

About Kristin

I have always loved to cook, and have been eating and cooking gluten free since 2007. I aim to make delicious, frugal and healthy meals that will be appealing to GF and non-GF eaters alike!